Easy Garlic Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
The operative word is easy. This recipe celebrates the beans. The more ingredients and steps you add, the more you change the essence of the recipe. My only suggestion to those using fresh beans is that blanching is unnecessary - 10 to 15 minutes of sautéing gets them pretty tender, unless you like them totally soft, which I don't. Otherwise save yourself the time and effort and enjoy this very simple and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I started by heating toasted sesame oil, then added the garlic. Meanwhile I blanched the beans for 3 minutes, then followed recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKGAMBIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Delicious. I used two tbsp of butter as opposed to one, and I used Sea Salt. This is our NEW favorite veggie recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
this was OK and great for a last minute side. next time I will add a little bacon as others have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
These are always a hit at family gatherings. I tend to go a little heavier on the garlic, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Simple and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Success!!! My daughter actually favored these over her chicken nuggets and was dipping them in ketchup like fries! The only change I made was I used a tsp of minced garlic from a jar instead of fresh and I may have used a smidge more salt than called for. It was pretty good! I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I know this is altering the original recipe, but I used fresh green beans and they were delicious! simply blanch (and drain) the fresh green beans for 3-4 minutes before adding to the skillet. I also added plenty of fresh ground black pepper - some while they were cooking and a bit more to finish them off. absolutely wonderful flavor! some mushrooms or onions could easily be added to make it even more flavorful. these can only get better! thank you, Nichka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I add roasted cashew nuts to the beans. I also season with light soy sauce. I blanch and then lightly fry the beans as I like to keep the bright green colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I have always fixed my green beans this way. The only difference is that I let my frozen beans thaw for about 5 minutes and it cuts down on the amount of time that I need to cook them. I like my beans al dente so this is a perfect recipe. I have used this recipe with fresh green beans but I microwave them with a teaspoon of water for two minutes first before I put them in the fry pan. That way they are not tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States