Easy Garlic Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I know this is altering the original recipe, but I used fresh green beans and they were delicious! simply blanch (and drain) the fresh green beans for 3-4 minutes before adding to the skillet. I also added plenty of fresh ground black pepper - some while they were cooking and a bit more to finish them off. absolutely wonderful flavor! some mushrooms or onions could easily be added to make it even more flavorful. these can only get better! thank you, Nichka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I add roasted cashew nuts to the beans. I also season with light soy sauce. I blanch and then lightly fry the beans as I like to keep the bright green colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I have always fixed my green beans this way. The only difference is that I let my frozen beans thaw for about 5 minutes and it cuts down on the amount of time that I need to cook them. I like my beans al dente so this is a perfect recipe. I have used this recipe with fresh green beans but I microwave them with a teaspoon of water for two minutes first before I put them in the fry pan. That way they are not tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My son who doesn't like green beans, ate this and pronounced it "Good." I did add the lemon which helped give some additional flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This recipe needed something more. The second time I made it I used fresh green beans and blanched them first, as another user suggested. I increased the garlic and also added shallots and sauted them in butter and olive oil. Then I added the beans and cooked until just tender. I finished off with some black pepper. This was much more flavorful and appealed to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Warning: this may not be a fair rating because I don't like green beans. I thought this would be a good way to get me to eat them, though. I couldn't really taste anything but green bean, though. Maybe I'll double the butter & garlic next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Not a bad way to perk up frozen green beans. I would like to try this again using fresh green beans--I bet it would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Delicious, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtnmilly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I made these deliicious green beans, dad and hubs loved it ( and they wont eat green stuff)... but after taking one bite they couldn't resist for second helpings!! although i would add some black pepper and a bit more salt.. no lemon juice needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I don't know if I will ever be able to eat plain Green Beans again! Sooo good!! (My husband, mother & father in law agreed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States