Easy Garden Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This recipe is a big hit in my home! I haven't made green beans any other way since I came across it. I plan to experiment with other vegetables such as broccoli and brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Champion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Great! I don't even like green beans and this was delicious! I followed the advice of others and halved the vinegar. I chopped the garlic and left it in...little strong on the garlic, but we love it...so it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksSC13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
So delicious!! I boiled for about 7-8 min. Also, I reduced the amount of vinegar by half. These were heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I don't agree with others who said the taste of vinegar was too strong . . .I didn't taste it much at all. They were good green beans, but I've had more flavorful green beans. Of course, I adore green beans so I try as many recipes as I can, so I'm a bit jaded. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
My girlfriend made these for dinner and they were great. We heeded the reviews and reduced the amount of vinegar and they didn't have a harsh vinegar taste. In fact, they didn't taste of vinegar at all. All of the ingredients combined to make a very balanced and savory taste that went well with the crisp steamed beans. Fresh beans cannot be compared with canned. I gave it 4 stars only because of the need to reduce the amount of vinegar...I gave my girlfriend a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I boiled a small batch instead of steaming them and substituted garlic power for the fresh garlic, added the ingredients with the beans in a plastic container and shook to mix. Very good and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ASPIRING RAE
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was a perfect side to our dinner. I only used 1T of vinegar instead of 2T and used aged extra sharp cheddar as that is what I had. They were delicious! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPIRING RAE
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I've made this recipe a few times now since both my parents and I like it a lot! The only thing I omitted was the vinegar as we're not a big fan of it. Other than that, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Radhika Shah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and these turned out great!! My husband loves fresh green beans, but usually the traditional southern way. He raved about these and wants me to serve them for a family get together. I will have to alter the recipe to fix enough for a group of 10-12 people, but I am sure they will be as imprssed as he was. A nice new way to cook green beans and with summer gardens coming in soon, I am sure many more people will love this recipe if they try it. It's good with any meat. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States