Easy Garden Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
My girlfriend made these for dinner and they were great. We heeded the reviews and reduced the amount of vinegar and they didn't have a harsh vinegar taste. In fact, they didn't taste of vinegar at all. All of the ingredients combined to make a very balanced and savory taste that went well with the crisp steamed beans. Fresh beans cannot be compared with canned. I gave it 4 stars only because of the need to reduce the amount of vinegar...I gave my girlfriend a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Excellent side dish and a great way to perk up green beans. The white wine vinegar wasn't overpowering and gave it just enough zip. I used steam in bag green beans to save on time and a mix of freshly grated parmesan and romano cheeses. This is a keeper and goes great with grilled steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Excellent! Had the perfect blend of seasonings and the vinegar gave them an extra little kick. My whole family loved them, so I guess I will be making them again tonight with my hubby's favorite meatloaf recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
We love these green beans, and it was a good way to make use of the tons of green beans that we grew and that our neighbor insisted we take home. I wouldn't change anything about this recipe. Delicious, and unique. Thank you for sharing it! UPDATE: We also like using this recipe on fresh, steamed asparagus as well. It is even better on asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is what I call a realistic recipe. It's great to throw together for that fresh out of the garden taste. The ingredients are main staples in my kitchen and the dish adds a crisp color to any dinner setting. The green beans are complimented very nicely and there is no question that they are being showcased. I personally could do without the parsley. All that being said there isn't a lot to rave about. They are after all just green beans, but they are a good side. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great flavor, just needed to be steamed 2-3 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These were pretty good. Hubby liked them more than me. I thought the vinegar taste was a little strong but I had to modify the recipe for portion size so I might have been off on the amount. All in all, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I love green beans, but this recipe wasn't what I expected. I think the problem here was the vinegar, it gave a very strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I didn't have fresh garlic and was a little nervous about the white wine vinegar. So after steaming the green beans for approx 7 minutes...I tossed in olive oil and garlic sea salt, topped with shredded parmesian cheese. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy a.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mount Tabor, Vermont, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
So delicious!! I boiled for about 7-8 min. Also, I reduced the amount of vinegar by half. These were heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States