Easy Garam Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I loved this stuff. I used whole spices though, roasted them together on dry pan until you could smell the aroma and then ground them all up. Was perfect on chicken tandoori and pulav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I wanted to make Moroccan Lentil Soup from this site and of course couldn't find garam masala at my grocery store. I don't do much Indian cooking at all, and didn't even know if it was a powder or paste or something else. Thankfully did a search, this popped up and my soup is smelling wonderful as it simmers away! I also added this to my "spice mix" list - for Christmas I gave someone little bottles of Taco Seasoning, Tourtiere Spice Mix and my own poultry seasoning mix. Plan on doing the same as part of an upcoming bridal shower gift, but will add a jar of this to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This is a great garam marsala. I've used it in many dishes and really like the flavour. Thanks for submitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosichops

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I've used many Garam Masala's in my cooking because my husband is from Punjab and we both enjoy Indian food. I use to make my own Garam Masala but found it too time consuming to make from scratch, I tried this recipe because it used less ingredients than what I am used to cooking with. Sorry but it was lacking in the rich flavour that I am use to. I have also tried some other brands like McCormick's and was disappointed at the blend. I just recently discovered the most amazing Garam Masala when I visited a Farmers Market in Port Moody area close to Vancouver BC. It was amazing, it was a punjabi style garam masala that can be used for hundreds of recipes. It seriously reminded me of my mother-in-laws cooking back in punjab! You can get it online from IndiaBase Canada's website. Sharmila masala's is another brand that I truly love, but its a bit hard to find. Making Garam Masala is an art and often takes several tries before getting it right! Hope this review helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I had a curry recipe that called for garam masala. I searched the grocery store endlessly (including bulk spices and specialty areas) with no luck. I was so happy to find this "quick fix" on Allrecipes. I thought this was the perfect blend of seasonings- the curry tasted delicious and authentic. I ground my own coriander because I only had whole on hand. Otherwise, left everything the same. Thanks for the recipe- I will use this from now on any time I need garam masala!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I bought most of the spices whole and grinded them in the coffee grinder. Used this in my oatmeal (surprisingly good) as well as a chicken thigh marinade by mixing into yogurt and seasoning with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Why purchase garam masala from a grocery store if you already have the spices on hand? I use this blend in many Indian dishes, and I feel like it makes my cooking even more authentic and "from scratch."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I have never purchased garam masala and I didn`t know its flavor. I used this recipe to make Indian dishes. I used all spices, roasted them for 1-2 min (until you could smell the aroma), then ground them. I think, great for use in all Indian recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I, too, needed this for the Moroccan Lentil soup. It was easy to make and added with a little sugar and black tea, makes a great, quick Chai beverage! I love this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTIH9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail A. Guild
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Just what I needed! I didn't have time to round up whole spices; frankm7 is right, whole is best, but in a pinch, this worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States