Easy Garam Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I bought most of the spices whole and grinded them in the coffee grinder. Used this in my oatmeal (surprisingly good) as well as a chicken thigh marinade by mixing into yogurt and seasoning with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I wanted to make Moroccan Lentil Soup from this site and of course couldn't find garam masala at my grocery store. I don't do much Indian cooking at all, and didn't even know if it was a powder or paste or something else. Thankfully did a search, this popped up and my soup is smelling wonderful as it simmers away! I also added this to my "spice mix" list - for Christmas I gave someone little bottles of Taco Seasoning, Tourtiere Spice Mix and my own poultry seasoning mix. Plan on doing the same as part of an upcoming bridal shower gift, but will add a jar of this to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Gail A. Guild
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Just what I needed! I didn't have time to round up whole spices; frankm7 is right, whole is best, but in a pinch, this worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I loved this stuff. I used whole spices though, roasted them together on dry pan until you could smell the aroma and then ground them all up. Was perfect on chicken tandoori and pulav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Love it, thanks. Don't have anything really to compare it to bc I don't think I've tried garam masala by itself, but another recipe that saved me from buying another spice. I so don't need another one! I subbed curry powder for coriander bc I didn't think I had any, then I found some. I'm not sure what I was thinking bc now I have two jars of coriander . . . .(see what I mean? I don't need anymore! Can't even find what I have bc I have so many!!). Anyway, thanks! Perfect for the butter chickpea recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I needed garam masala for "Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) (also from allrecipes.com)." This recipe worked out great and I have more next time I need garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I, too, needed this for the Moroccan Lentil soup. It was easy to make and added with a little sugar and black tea, makes a great, quick Chai beverage! I love this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTIH9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
It's been a while since I've been able to get my hands on real garam masala, so I'm sort of going from memory, but this tastes and smells pretty much like the real thing! I was out of cardamom so didn't use it and I suspect my coriandor was kaput since it didn't smell like much, but still - an excellent substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Easy to make. Great for use in many Indian recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was great in Chicken Makhani.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States