Easy Fudge Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I was craving chocolate late one night, came on allrecipes.com and found this recipe. 25 minutes later I had brownies. But, I didn't have shortening, so I used oil. The oil was drenching them and driping down my fingers, so that wasn't a good choice! But I made them again today with butter instead of shortening, and used 1/4 c less butter than it called for (shortening), and doubled the recipe because last time they were very thin. These were excellent!!! They would be good with nuts. Maybe even chocolate chips because they are not very chocolatey. But so simple and they really did have a great flavor. Just don't use oil and use less butter/shortening than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
If I could have given this recipe a zero star I would have. I really should have read the reviews before I made this. It is disgusting. These "brownies" are most like "whities" because of the color. There is too much shortening to flour and chocolate ratio. They taste awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2000
When I think brownies, I think fudgey. These were anything but. They satisfied my sweet tooth, but left me yearning for chocolate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEACHEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This recipe is easy to make. I used butter instead of shortening and used less like someone recommended in previous reviews. However, they came out very wierd looking, they are very pale and moist, and have no flavor. I don't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
way too greasy... i dont think i can eat them... they may just get tossed out. enough chocolate flavor tho...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
If I could give this a negitive number I would. My five year old loved making it but won't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Not exactly sure how to rate these... 5 for being easy to throw together. I used butter for the shortening, added some chopped walnuts, a teaspoon of coffee crystals, and a dash of salt. Baked an extra 10 min. in an 8x8 pan. Think they need more cocoa because they look a little light. Didn't wait for them to cool but they were pretty good warm with a glass of milk, crispy on the top but a bit gummy inside. Not your classic brownie flavor but I'd probably make them again in a 9x9 pan. Hubby said that he'd like them more well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This recipe was too sugary, made me sick to my stomach to eat them. Will never make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
The recipe sounded good, but it was so greasy they wouldn't stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
I was looking for any easy recipe. It might have been easy, but they were terrible. The grease literally was coming out of the brownies. They had no taste, and since I made a triple batch all of them ended up in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States