Easy Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I am making this right now. It's and old tried and true recipe that my family has made for several generations. Sinfully good !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
We made this with blackberries, blueberries, and strawberries. Yum! It was easy, and delicious. Definitely put the batter on the bottom, like the recipe says. When it bakes, the batter with rise up and around the fruit and the sugar in the batter will get crusty and crunchy. It's seriously so good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
One thing that will help sweeten the cobbler if making with variety of berries is to macerate the fruit first--put in bowl--sprinkle about 2 Tablsp. sugar over top of berries--then because I'm more tactile than daughter--I reach in with CLEAN hands and kind of mash or squish a few (not all) of the berries up--she presses a glass down to crush a few berries and get the juices flowing--let that sit while oven preheating and toss together the rest of recipe. Made it twice and first time I left rack in middle of oven and turned out a tad gooey in center--second time I place oven rack up a notch and turned out evenly baked throughout--good recipe for if you're in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I used a can of tart cherries in water (drained the water), and I only used 1/2 C sugar. It was still really good. This recipe is easy to adjust to your personal tastes, and it's super easy and fast to make! I put it together in just a couple minutes while my chicken finished oven roasting and then popped it in the oven once the chicken was done. By the time dinner was over and cleaned up, dessert was ready. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This is a quick and easy recipe, which is always a good thing. I used frozen mixed fruit because that is what I had in the freezer and it turned out great. But this would work with any fresh or frozen fruit. I don’t make cobblers very often, so I think this has just become my go-to recipe for it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Good and easy recipe. I followed recipe as is for the batter, but used plum, peach, pear, black berries and blue berries. The total amount of fruit was over 2 cups. I sprinkled cinnamon powder on top (I love cinnamon) and it turned out great. I like this recipe because the ingredients are always readily available in my kitchen and it takes very little time to prepare before you put it in the oven. It is very tasty, but I personally prefer something less sweet for the batter. I prefer much less sweetness than most people so I don't think that would be an issue for many. I think it works really well with some sweet and tart fruit. If the fruits are just sweet (like pear), I would add some lemon juice to give more dimension. If this recipe didn't turn out well, I think it is either because the fruits didn't taste well or maybe you just don't like cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I used freshly picked and pitted tart cherries and love the sweet and tart combination. Quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kldsunshine17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Spring Creek, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this for my family and everyone loved it. I used fresh hand picked black raspberries. Once I put the raspberries into the batter I sprinkled a tiny bit of white sugar over the top of the berries. I have already made this twice this weekend. Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Very disappointed. The batter was inconsistent in texture: sometimes good, sometimes gummy and gelatinous and I couldn't finish it. Even when it was the right texture, I was not impressed by the taste. I completely followed the recipe and this is the first recipe on allrecipes.com that has bombed for me. I used blueberries only (frozen) and I did use gluten-free flour so that may have been a partial cause in the recipe not working for me. I won't try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe. I make it with gluten free flour (King Arthur brand) and fresh granny smith apples about once a week. My husband likes to have extra apples on top, so I make it with apple chunks but I bake about two cups of apples separately then pile them on the individual servings after the cobbler is done. I do add quite a bit of cinnamon and a teaspoon of vanilla, but I put those in just about every baked good, so that's not a strike against the recipe. It takes all of ten minutes to mix the ingredients, melt the butter, and layer it into the dish. By the way, this doesn't require any xanthan gum if using the KA flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States