Easy Fried Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Excellent, except very oily. I found that olive oil works better for me, in a lesser quantity... flavors it better and it's better for you anyway. The garlic was wonderful, even added a bit more. Have made several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I love this kind of recipe. You can add bacon, onions, bean sprouts; just all kinds of good things. You can also use canola oil, because it's good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This is a pretty basic recipe-I've been making it for years! Here are some tips: DO NOT let the garlic burn-it will be bitter.(If you have the time-I usually don't- use roasted garlic for GREAT flavor!)For a healthy alternative, use Olive Oil instead of canola oil-natural is always! (Ever hear of a "canola plant"?? Of course not!!) I love to add cannellini beans to the garlic & oil before adding the spinach. You can also add small pasta (like ditalini). Sometime we use broccoli or/and cauliflower instead. We have variations once a week for our "meatless" meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
FYI: I've had this dish from a wonderful Chinese restaurant by my house, but they don't use spinach; they use the leaves and stems of the peapod plant (I forget the Chinese name). You can buy these veggies at an Asian grocer. They are sturdier than spinach and don't cook down as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Delicious! I added some finely chopped mushrooms, and a squeeze of lemon juice and some soy sauce at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This recipe goes over well with my husband, and he isn't a big vegetable eater. I've made this many times and I usually add fresh tomatoes, any of the small versions. I quarter them and add them to pan when I add the spinach. This gives it a little bit more flavor. Also, I don't ever use the extra oil. All I use is the butter, but even with that you have to be carefull because too much butter can ruin it. It'll be very greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I used olive oil, no butter and a splash of balsamic vinegar at the end. Easy and healthy, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I like the concept but used half the oil and butter. I minced my garlic, because that is how I "roll". Thanks for a great quick new way to have spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This recipe was good. I only used 3/4 of the butter used and it turned out fine. The flavor is good, if you like garlic you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlan, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Great. I use olive oil and no butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States