Easy Fried Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
It never ceases to amaze me how someone can change a recipe 10 ways to Sunday and then give a rating of 3 or 4 because it just wasn't right. Wise up, people! The first time you make the recipe follow it to the letter. THEN rate it and change it to your liking. This is an excellent recipe just as it stands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
My family loves spinach this way; on occasion I have added bacon. Try after sauteing the garlic, turning off the heat and putting the spinach in the pan, covered, and let sit for a few minutes and it wilts perfectly without being overcooked. My kids ate it when they were small and I never had to doctor it or bribe them to eat their spinach; fresh spinach is the only way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I have been making this at home for years, using olive oil instead of canola. I finish by adding salt and fresh ground pepper to taste, and a splash of balsamic vinagar. This is a tasty way to get our greens that even my husband loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Way to much oil and butter...I don't add the garlic, crushed or sliced, until some of the spinach has wilted down some so that the garlic doesn't burn...Also, add some fresh sliced mushrooms and lots of fresh cracked black pepper..be sure to use a very large frying pan so there is room to keep adding spinach as it starts to saute...Salt shouldn't be added until the very end...Sprinkle some parmesean cheese on top right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
After living in China (but eating this at a Japanese teppanyaki restaurant) we make this frequently, only I just use the chopped garlic from a jar, and we always add soy sauce. We add a tiny bit of water, put the lid on the wok and steam it for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCOFFELT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
As it stands I can only rate this 3 stars. Personally it is too greasy so here are my changes. Use only 1 tbls. each of butter and oil and add chicken broth to make up for quantities. Also crush the garlic rather than slicing. This is much more suited to my taste and also healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Really great recipe. I added some crumbled bacon and roasted garlic almond accents after it was cooked and the flavor was great. My husband ate all of it the first night and requested it again the next evening. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingwood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I was afraid this dish was going to need some salt or additional flavor, but it was actually quite nice on its own. I also used jarred garlic and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Gave this a 4. I boiled the raw spinach in a pot first. Saw that on a cooking show once. That's the key...THEN you can saute it in whatever you desire. Came out alright. I used only 1 tbsp of oil (don't like mine too oily, added a dash of lemon juice, and minced garlic (yum!) But boil the leaves first...trust me it's gonna save this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This is much lighter and milder than I expected. It can easily take on more flavors, but it's fine by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States