Easy Fried Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Just added a little salt and pepper to bread crumbs and topped with shredded mozzarella. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Well, IMO there is one key thing this recipe doesn't get right and that is to prep the eggplant. You want to lay them out, salt both sides and wait about an hour. Rinse them off completely, then they are ready for your seasoned breading. The salt treatment removes most of the bitterness and allows the sweet flavor to come out. I also never peel my fried eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Singledad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Wrightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Delicious! I gave it four stars because I did tweak it. Like most reviewers, I added salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, and Parmesan cheese to the bread crumbs. Sounds like a lot, but it kinda feels like a given. Anyhow, this is a great beginner recipe, to which you can add any spices you like. Thank you, WALLEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddcrowley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monmouth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Delicious and very quick and easy. I added Italian Spices to the breadcrumbs along with extra Dried Oregano and Parmesan Cheese to taste. I also lightly salted them before sautéing. They do soak up the oil very quickly, so I had to add additional oil. I chose to use Extra Virgin Olive Oil and it worked just fine. ~ Rani
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Perfect way to serve eggplant and get some more veggies...even if frying them nullifies the benefits. Definitely use more oil. I had seasoned breadcrumbs and they came out great - I know a lot of people said they were very bland. Topped them with some mozzarella and served with regular old store bought spaghetti sauce. If you kids like to "dunk" food, this is great recipe! Wonderful, fast and easy way to serve eggplant:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Delicious! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
The were Wonderful! I have to say I use to just use flour, salt and pepper. I love the taste of using the Italian bread crumbs. Nothing more has to be done if you stick to the Italian crumbs. Oh, I did sprinkle with a little salt after they were cooked but not much. This is the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Very easy. I'm very new to cooking with eggplant so I was scared to try. A few tips that I'll be using next time I make this: cut the slices thinner than imagined, maybe 1/4 inch (originally, I cut them about 1/2 in. thick and it was too thick to cook through nicely) I read other reviews about adding spices and double breading, so I did just that. I had 3 bowls, 1 with egg, 1 with flour and spices (salt, pepper, garlic salt) and the third with bread crumbs and italian seasoning. dipped in egg, then flour, then egg again, and finally, bread crumbs. I'm not sure how tasty it would have been had I not added the spices, because that really did influence the taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Use crushed cornflakes for crunchier coating. Salt eggplant and drain on paper towels before frying. Do not crowd in frying pan as eggplant has high water content and won't crisp up right. Season with garlic salt and fresh ground pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Loved it EXCEPT, I exchanged bread crumbs for progresso Italian bread crumbs and rather than canola oil, used coconut oil. Great to eat cold, in sandwiches, as a side with pasta and sauce, get creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States