Easy French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I have been using this basic recipe for years. I only use 1/4cu of milk and a1/2tsp of cinnamon and white sugar mix. Cook on stove top for 3-4 minutes on first side and 2minutes on second size. I also melt a little butter in the pan before cooking. Oooooh soooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I agree with many other reviewers that there was way too much milk and cinnamon. Too soggy of bread is impossible to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Even just looking at this recipe I could tell it was a bad idea...way too much milk, way too much cinnamon...best bet...go with what you know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I love it any other good food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destiny G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This recipe could definitely use some improvements... 1/2 cup milk 2 teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract 1 teaspoon Cinnamon, Ground 8 slices Cinnamon Swirl bread 2 egg 1. Beat egg, vanilla and cinnamon in shallow dish. Stir in milk. 2. Dip bread in egg mixture, turning to coat both sides evenly. 3. Cook bread slices on lightly greased nonstick griddle or skillet on medium heat until browned on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I just made this using sugggestions from the other reviewers. My 2 year old ate 2 slices and five year old, who is a little of a picky eater, ate one and asked to have it for lunch. I used 2 eggs, 1/8 cup milk, and only 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. I didn't soak the bread for 20 seconds, just enough to coat both sides and it didn't seem soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I've been making my french toast like this since I learned how to make it in seventh grade health class. To make it a little healthier, I use whole wheat bread and a little "skinnier" with fat free evaporated milk. I like to add nutmeg sometimes, too. French toast is just awesome, isn't it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This is a very good traditional french toast without all the unnecessary additives. It turned out great and was exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbertsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I did not care for this recipe...there was way too much milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gaarafangirl54
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Today I wanted to make my Pop breakfast & this recipe came up. I wanted something easy & this really was a easy recipe. For me I used honey flavored bread & fat free milk to reduce the calories but they came out prefect & my Pop loved it.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaarafangirl54

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States