Easy French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Surely 1 tablespoon of cinnamon is an error in this recipe? I used just 1/4 TEAspoon...also I omitted the salt. Now that was easy french toast alright. I sprinkled it with powdered sugar and served it with vanilla yoghurt and maple syrup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Don't listen to the people who can't cook! I like this recipe as is - I'm single and don't cook for a lot of people. I made this in my cast-iron 8-inch skillet, and I don't like to waste my free-range eggs, being too expensive. I cooked my two slices of bread with the lid on my skillet, and it came out fine. I actually used the drippings from my sausage that I cooked, put the sausage patties on top of the french bread slices, and poured maple syrup on top of meat and all! Homemade McGriddles! Thanks for the easy, thrifty, and adaptable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsIrisCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
recipe is horrible. correct amount of cinnamon is 1/4 teaspoon per 6 slices of bread. i doubled every ingredient except for the cinnamon and it still turned out horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Too much milk to egg ratio! When I make French toast I use 4 eggs to about a 1/2 cream or half and half. A teaspoon of vanilla and a 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. Use a good heavy bread like French, Italian, Challah or croissants. Dip bread in mixture about 10-15 seconds, then I press it against the bowl to press out some of the liquid. Fry it in a skillet with canola oil or oil and butter mixture. Mine gets nice and crisp without putting it in the oven. If you only have white sandwich bread, cut it into 3 strips, and then dip it quickly, and put in hot pan. Otherwise you will have a sloppy mess. Cook them til they start to puff up and then turn. You need more oil to cook them than other breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamaraDLMerritt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was an OK easy recipe with some glitches. If you are using regular thin sliced bread, DO NOT soak. Simply dip each side. Reduce cinnamon to 1/2 Tsp per slice of bread but you might need to add more as the bread slices soak up the cinnamon floating on top. Reduce milk to 1/4 cup per 2 slices of bread. Fully cook on lower heat setting if it is burning on the outside and soggy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
My 8 year old made this for dinner tonight. It made 6 slices of french toast all told, and was wonderful with a dash of syrup! Give it a try!Don't stress so much over the soak time, just plop it in the bowl of egg/milk mixture turn over and plop it on the griddle - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Quite possibly the best french toast I've had! I used more bread than it called for, and it was moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
THANK YOU SO MUCH!! I had misplaced my recipe and came here looking for the same one, and I can't tell you how difficult it was out of all the other recipes I just wanted simple french toast so thank you once again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiris Amou

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
far too much milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I made the mistake of not reading reviews before making this. Like a lot of people said, it was soggy, and even with a oiled pan, still tended to stick. I would reduce the milk to about half a cup or so, and wouldn't soak it for more than 10 - 15 seconds. However: the bread I used was partly stale, and the mixture actually did very well! I suggest using staler bread and it would work much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 91-100 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States