Easy French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Just like everyone else already said, this did not turn out. Way too much milk and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Partially my fault for disregarding this recipe's rating, but I just had a terrible time making french toast. I've never made it before, and one of these days I really just need to copy all of my mom's recipes. I just wanted a simple, straightforward french toast. This looked like the one. What's wrong with this recipe? The batter is way too thin. Soak even the stalest bread in this mix for 20 seconds on each side, and you will have a pulpy mess. I even used brown eggs and whole milk, so I imagine I had the thickest version of the batter. If you dare try this, make sure you have the heartiest bread you can get your hands on. Even a nice, thick 7-grain will fall apart if soaked more than a few seconds. Can I give it half a star? I want to give it half a star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
blahh!!!! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eubank, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
The title should be changed to French toast. I have made this very recipe several times for my family before ever seeing this recipe on here. I have made it with milk before and it cancels out the vanilla flavoring and neutralizes the cinnamon. Then all you taste is bread and egg. You don't want that. Take out the milk and you have a very delicious French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
It was fine. Forget the salt though. I have had better french toast and all I use is eggs, milk, and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
if your franch toast came out soggy and doughy then someting is wrong with the way you are cooking it. i made mine it was ust fine. the flavor wasnt the best and i added eggs, used less milk, and added a little nutmeg and almond oil. this improved the flavor greatly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
way too much milk, completely soggy. Cinnamon made it bitter tasting. Definitely won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I Couldn't get it to get crispy at all, I dont know if it was me or the recipe, but I dont like this one, I guess I'll just have to try looking for another one, in mean time I got to stick with Pancakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
If you follow the adaptations in the reviews it would be much better. However if you follow the provided recipe without alterations it's way too much milk, as we are rating the recipe and NOT the review versions it just gets a 1. )=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Did not turn out right at all. I made the mistake of not checking the reviews first before I tried this. I found a better recipe "French Toast I" that called for 2 eggs and 2/3 cup milk and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of vanilla and salt to taste and I used texas toast. My kids loved it and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States