Easy French Onion Soup for Guests Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Delicious! My daughter made this and it was truly wonderful! Definately will try with Gruyere cheese, we used Swiss and Parmesan. I agree if I had known how easy this was to made we would have made it sooner, I always thought French Onion Soup was extremely complicated and difficult to make. This is a great recipe, will share with my family and friends! Thanks Chef John for sharing this fantastic recipe, as my Mom always said, this recipe is "tried and true!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Gallant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
We always loved onion soup, but I was afraid to make it, thinking that it was a complicated recipe. But this is just so easy to make and sooo good! My husband (who is French and used to onion soup in good French restaurants) and I just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tartelette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Easy, tasty, good meatless meal. Everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
If I had only known how simple it was to make this so loved soup ... Ah, well, now I do. Such a rich and deep flavorful broth. Perfection. Thank you so much Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Fabulous!! I followed the recipe to a "t" except I used 5 cheese Texas toast and substituted white wine for the water...Wow....this is great and worth the wait...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evonnecpa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I thought this was too sweet and ended up adding salt when I ate it. It was very easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Leedom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Just as flavorful as any of the many French Onion soups I have ordered over the years at restaurants. I wish I had known how easy it is to make- I would have done this sooner! I made some minor changes. I used all beef broth, couldn't find sherry vinegar so I used red wine vinegar and I sliced my onions in the traditional way. Also couldn't find fresh thyme sprigs so I used a pinch of crushed thyme I had on hand. I did use an excellent amontillado sherry. The depth of flavor was outstanding. Cooking sherry will have a very different flavor from the real stuff. All in all this was a really yummy recipe & I will be making this often. It is SOOO simple. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhval

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Liked this a lot. It wasn't too salty and is easy to make. The gruyere cheese is worth the extra cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Just made this. I had sherry but no sherry vinegar so used white wine vinegar. No Gruyere but used a combo of sharp cheddar and Mexican cheese. Only had one large onion but it still came out great. I added about 1/4 cup more beef broth, just to my taste as I think it made it richer tasting. This is the best french onion soup I've ever made.. it's restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Very yummy onion soup. My husband and I loved it but the children did not. Not really a flavor most kids enjoy but for adults it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States