Easy French Dip Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
So awesome! I did not know that consomme was so I just bought beef broth. Before I made the recipe I looked it up and realized it is a strong broth so I just added 3 beef bullion cubes to the broth before adding the roast beef. It was so great. Everyone in my family gobbled it up. My husband preferred cheddar and and mustard so it was easy to change it up before putting in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBird

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
It does't get much easier than this! Plus, it tastes really good! All I added to the "au jus" was a 1 tsp. of minced garlic, and a 1/2 tsp. of rosemary. I also sauteed a large onion sliced into 1/2 inch rings. I used swiss cheese instead of provolone (personal preference). These were some "Easiest" French Dip sanwiches ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was awesome! I just au jus (in the packet) and it came out great. I added some garlic and onion salt to the juice. I also added garlic salt on top of the sandwiches before cooking. This was quick and simple and we loved it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Weiershauser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I made this for my son and I tonight. He said this is better than Arby's! I did make a few changes. I added onion powder, garlic powder, and pepper to the beef broth like others did. I sauteed green bell pepper, onion and mushroom to add to sandwich under the provolone. Gotta get them veggies in! I am still trying to find the bread that will hold up to the juice as the hoagie turns too mushy, maybe toasting it as others have done will make the difference. I'll try that next time. I have found that the sandwich turns out best with good quality meat from the deli. This is a keeper for my family as we can customize to individual tastes, quick to prepare and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyMaxwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunol, California, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This is a GREAT sandwich. I am the chief cook on our shift at the fire department and the guys are always looking for something different. These sandwiches along with homemade french onion soup rocks! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Vernon, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
My husband and I really really enjoyed these and they were exactly what we were looking for in a french dip. As per others suggestions, I sauteed onions and mushrooms and put them on too. I will definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
These were so good and so easy! I had leftover roast beef and beef broth in the freezer, homemade rosemary bread, and provolone. I added a little rosemary to the broth, and it was perfect. My family loved it! Thanks for a great idea,writergirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Perfect for a quick Sunday night dinner with some fries. Very tasty and you can't find a much easier recipe. I'm sure I'll be making these again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was a very easy and delicious recipe. My husband and very picky teenager loved it! I substituted the beef consomme for 1 can of beef broth and no water and got wonderful results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Couldnt be any easier, inexpensive or yummy! This is extrememly basic. Even the worst cook will succeed with the great tasting recipe. Thanks for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States