Easy French Dip Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
For a quick and tasty sandwich; can't beat this at all. Will satisfy any craving for a French Dip Sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was so easy, quick, and inexpensive. A few things to note (none of these changes were used in rating this recipe)- I couldn't find beef consommé at the store, so I bought beef broth with the intention of adding some beef bouillon to it once home, only to find out I was out of bouillon. Despite adding onion powder, garlic powder, and some black pepper, the broth was still a little too bland for me. So I would encourage making sure you start off with the consommé (or at least add a little bouillon) if you like a stronger broth flavor. Like other reviewers suggested, I toasted my bread before hand and didn't have any issues with the rolls getting soggy. I also used swiss instead of provolone (personal preference). The only thing that kept this recipe from being 5 stars was the fact that heating the meat in the broth both dried out and toughened it. Dipping the sandwich made it moist once more but I could still notice a texture difference in the meat. (Perhaps I left it in the broth too long or at too high a temp?) I will definitely make this again but with the stronger broth and possibly some grilled onions. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Pretty tasty and super easy for a quick weekend lunch or weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Quick, easy, and a hit with the kids! Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
My fiance and I make these almost every other week. It is a very good quick weeknight meal that we love. We followed the recipe exactly and they turn out great every time. I will say, however, that it is worth it to buy the name-brand deli roast beef as opposed to off-brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
So easy and my family loves this. We always sauté onions and mushrooms to add to the sandwich. Delicious! UPDATE on 11/5: Last time I made this, I made a horseradish mayo to put on the roll and it took this to a new level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Amazing!!! These came out tasting wonderful and it was all so simple to make! Highly recommend~!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is the PERFECT, quick sandwich. I followed this recipe to the "T" and it was a definite hit. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer702

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
super easy and Skylar loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I loved it! This was easy and amazing! The beef consomme is just a stronger beef broth and should be beside the reg cans of beef broth! I added a can of French onion soup and it gave it a bang!!! I also used swiss I thought it would give more flavor! So EASY and so yummy! It's also HUSBAND APPROVED!!!!!! :D (he also said better than arby's)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States