Easy French Dip Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Tasty sandwiches, like what I had growing up. Definitely a favorite in my household now! We used swiss cheese since that's what my fiancee prefers but still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I made a huge batch of these for dinner last night WITH the modifications that others suggested and it was a major hit at our house! Additions: I didn't have consume, so I used beef broth boiled down with a few extra bullion cubes added; add a bit of rosemary and garlic to the beef broth; added sauted onions and mushroom smothered in cheese on the top half of the bun; soaked the roast beef in the sauce mix for about 5 min before putting it on the bottom half of the bun; baked the halves open faced in the oven for 5 minutes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Delicious and easy! My husband and I both really enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I used left over tri-tip meat and beef base consume. I used Monterey Jack cheese and Portuguese Sweet rolls. My husband loved it. Very easy to make and a great use of left over meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I have been making these sandwiches for years. Here is how I make mine. I use Au Jus and sometimes swiss cheese. I put the meat in the au jus and to warm it. Meanwhile, I butter the hoagie rolls and put them under the broiler just to brown. Then, I put the meat and cheese on one side of bun and put back under the broiler until the cheese is melted and starts to brown. Then it is a matter of preference. Serve as is are put mayo and/or mustard on the top bun. sever with a dipping bowl of Au Jus. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This simple recipe was delicious!! I wasn't sure what beef consomme was but after some searching I found it in the Campbells soup section... beef consomme! I made it exactly as directed and it was a hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Can't go wrong! Different bread works, different cheese works, doesn't matter! It's gonna be delicious no matter what. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was fantastic. And so easy to make. I took the advice of some of the others and used beef bullion cubes to make the sauce since I had that on hand. I used about 2 cups of water and 6 bullion cubes. It was great. Definitely going on my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madill, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME!!! Quick and easy!! I added some sauteed mushrooms as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajswanson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was easy enough for my husband to make on his own and tasted pretty good. I think toasting the buns would improve it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States