Easy Flat Iron Steak in Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was great. I was looking for a new steak recipie for Valentine's day and this hit the spot. The rub was great and very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Wow. This was a HUGE hit in my house- my husband freaked out over it! We usually prepare flat iron steak with a yummy marinade and grill it. I've always been pleased, but my husband proclaimed this was THE best flat iron he's ever had! So easy, too. I also added some onion to the oil after removing the steaks and let them get a little tender before adding some marsala wine. I can't wait to try it with red wine! Oh, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ryansullivan
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was the first steak I ever cooked myself and MAN, I'm hooked! I used a sirloin instead, added side of asparagus, and had the wine to drink. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
REALLY liked this just as the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bikerchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Excellent! Used 1/3 cup strong beef boullion added to the wine. (only had white wine). Added onion with the mushrooms. Would reduce Paprika by quite a bit next time. Omit the salt. People can salt it if they prefer. Reduced the olive oil by 1/2 when browning steaks. Warning to newbys at browning at high heat. High dosen't mean # 10. medium high is better. Watch closely unless you like blackened steak, wich will ruin the taste of the veggies. But.. You must brown quickly, unless you like well done steak. Hope this helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Great recipe. I had to tweek it a bit as I'm not a big fan of mushrooms. I added chopped onions and garlic and served with fettuccine in sun-dried tomato alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
It's great, best of all I had all the ingredients in my cabinet and it tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBGODSGIFT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This is a good recipe but it does need a bit of help. Definately add a cup of chopped onion and a couple cloves of minced garlic to the drippings before you add the wine. I felt the need to add some worstechire and beef broth to the sauce as well to give it a more rich flavor. Let the sauce reduce adequately before you add the meat back, so that the meat doesn't over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by Kay
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I was really craving steak and I found this recipe. If you find cooking steak at home a little daunting like I do, this recipe is so easy and practically fool proof. The flat iron cut is tender and much less expensive than the ribeye and New York cuts. I bought a 16 oz steak that ranged in thickness from 0.50" to just under 1.0" which I cut it into 4 pcs. I followed the rub recipe exactly and didn't change the quantities for my larger cut & there was still plenty of rub. I only swapped out fresh garlic for the powder. I cooked the steak 2 min on each side. This left the thinnest piece medium-rare in the middle and the thickest piece with a cool center. When I returned the steaks to the wine sauce, I cooked them for 2:30 on each side. I used an oil splatter shield too. While this was happening, I steamed a bag of frozen green beans in the microwave so that everything was done at the same time. I give the flavour of the steak 4 stars, the 5th star is for being quick 'n' easy. It smells wonderful while cooking and I'd serve it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Really great recipe. The rub was fantastic. Mine didn't have any sauce at the end, but I only had crimini mushrooms on hand, so maybe they didn't release as much moisture. Anyway, it didn't seem to need the sauce as the whole thing was very flavorful. I also threw in a few slices of onion with the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States