Easy Flat Iron Steak in Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Good, quick recipe. I didnt add mushrooms since I didnt have them on hand, but added a little broth for additional liquid. Added onions and garlic to red wine. Served with a green salad. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscallietea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was one of the best flat iron steaks I have made. Was out of cayenne and used chipoyle chilie pepper instead. I have to admit I was worried some about the black char it created while cooking but it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I give this a 4, but my family gives it a 2. I used a 1.5 lb. flat iron steak and left out the mushrooms. I used a good pinot noir and the sauce was good. My only issue was the seasoning practically blackened and became somewhat gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Wow! This steak recipe is amazing!! I've made it thrice and even messed up the ingredients once and it still came out great! The last time I subbed the same amount of mustard for marjoram and since I didn't have ea pan big enough for the slab I bought I broiled it 5 mins on one side then 3 on the other. Then I combined the drippings with the wine and shrooms boiled then simmered for 4-5 mins. Threw it under my 1.64 lb slab of meat and baked at 350 for 7 mins then 400 for 5. It came out about medium and juicy! Superb! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Yummy! I let the paste sit on the steak for about an hour so it really absorbed all the flavors and added shallot and fresh garlic and more mushroom (because we love them). Came out tender and juicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made this for the first time a few months ago and a few times since (and am about to make it again for tonight's dinner!) I have both made it exactly as the recipe dictates and changed things up a bit; it's come our fabulous either way. I've used white wine when I didn't have red, and that was great, too. This is a great recipe that I recommend for those that haven't made flat iron steak before; it's certainly won over my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Pretty good. I didnt use ground mustard (didnt have). The sauce never thickened to my liking but it was still savory. My bf very much enjoyed the sauce with the potabellos. Overall 3.5 star. I still think flat iron steak is alittle bit on the chewy side for me. But would make again, but with different cut of steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovelyDove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Used a rub I had from this website, but followed cooking steak with cabernet mushrooms and added onion slices. Hubby loved it! While the steak was in rest mode I covered with aluminum foil to continue the cooking stage. Came out pink in middle, very tender and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
A great recipe - my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States