Easy Flat Iron Steak in Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was one of the best flat iron steaks I have made. Was out of cayenne and used chipoyle chilie pepper instead. I have to admit I was worried some about the black char it created while cooking but it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I give this a 4, but my family gives it a 2. I used a 1.5 lb. flat iron steak and left out the mushrooms. I used a good pinot noir and the sauce was good. My only issue was the seasoning practically blackened and became somewhat gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Wow! This steak recipe is amazing!! I've made it thrice and even messed up the ingredients once and it still came out great! The last time I subbed the same amount of mustard for marjoram and since I didn't have ea pan big enough for the slab I bought I broiled it 5 mins on one side then 3 on the other. Then I combined the drippings with the wine and shrooms boiled then simmered for 4-5 mins. Threw it under my 1.64 lb slab of meat and baked at 350 for 7 mins then 400 for 5. It came out about medium and juicy! Superb! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Yummy! I let the paste sit on the steak for about an hour so it really absorbed all the flavors and added shallot and fresh garlic and more mushroom (because we love them). Came out tender and juicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made this for the first time a few months ago and a few times since (and am about to make it again for tonight's dinner!) I have both made it exactly as the recipe dictates and changed things up a bit; it's come our fabulous either way. I've used white wine when I didn't have red, and that was great, too. This is a great recipe that I recommend for those that haven't made flat iron steak before; it's certainly won over my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Pretty good. I didnt use ground mustard (didnt have). The sauce never thickened to my liking but it was still savory. My bf very much enjoyed the sauce with the potabellos. Overall 3.5 star. I still think flat iron steak is alittle bit on the chewy side for me. But would make again, but with different cut of steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovelyDove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Used a rub I had from this website, but followed cooking steak with cabernet mushrooms and added onion slices. Hubby loved it! While the steak was in rest mode I covered with aluminum foil to continue the cooking stage. Came out pink in middle, very tender and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
A great recipe - my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Very good. Didn't have red wine so used 1/2 blush and 1/2 beef broth. Reduced by 1/2 amount of black pepper and mustard for spouse's tastes. Added onion cut fajita-style and cooked with mushrooms. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States