Easy Flat Iron Steak in Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
It helps to know that a 'flat iron' steak is cut from a top blade roast, and can be prepared by your butcher if you don't see it in the meat case. Flat Iron Steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This is a good recipe but it does need a bit of help. Definately add a cup of chopped onion and a couple cloves of minced garlic to the drippings before you add the wine. I felt the need to add some worstechire and beef broth to the sauce as well to give it a more rich flavor. Let the sauce reduce adequately before you add the meat back, so that the meat doesn't over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a great way to make a steak that is more than just throwing it on the grill with garlic and pepper. I'd recommend leaving the salt out of the dish and putting a dash of Worchestershire in the rub. Also, the steak can be cooked in less olive oil. I cooked fresh chopped garlic and shallots in the meat drippings before adding the wine to make the reduction. Excellent recipe and the mushrooms really grab the flavor of the meat and wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I cut my steaks off a large chuck roast (as these were on sale this week). The marinade for this recipe was fabulous! I didn't have any fresh or dried thyme, so I used 2 teaspoons fresh flat parsley, and 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano. I couldn't find my dried mustard (who knows?) so I used about 1 teaspoon yellow mustard instead. Because I was serving children, and a husband who aren't fond of too much garlic, I omitted the minced garlic at the end. Since the grill is covered with snow, I used a grill pan on the stove, and lightly coated the pan with olive oil. I can't wait to use this recipe for marinade on a better cut of steak, as it is, it turned inexpensive meat into delicious meat! I served atop fresh spinach leaves, tossed lightly with olive oil, garlic salt, freshly ground pepper, sliced tomatoes, and a squirt of fresh lemon juice. I served oven roasted russet potatoes (in onion soup mix, olive oil, garlic salt, parsley and pepper). Husband and children loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Such an amazingly successful and forgiving recipe. If you'd like to adjust this recipe for someone who doesn't like alcohol, just substitute the wine with half that amount of water. I served the steaks with a pasta that had fresh spinach, sundried tomato and a simple white sauce barely sprinkled with fresh parmesean. Check out White Sauce SUBMITTED BY: CJO on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was an excellent steak recipe. The only thing I did differently was after rubbing the spice mixture all over the steak, I put it in a plastic bag and added about 1/4 - 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar since I thought it needed some acidity for the marinade. I marinated for 3 hours. It was delicious and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Yum. Yum. Yum. that about sums it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
A great recipe - my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kay
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I was really craving steak and I found this recipe. If you find cooking steak at home a little daunting like I do, this recipe is so easy and practically fool proof. The flat iron cut is tender and much less expensive than the ribeye and New York cuts. I bought a 16 oz steak that ranged in thickness from 0.50" to just under 1.0" which I cut it into 4 pcs. I followed the rub recipe exactly and didn't change the quantities for my larger cut & there was still plenty of rub. I only swapped out fresh garlic for the powder. I cooked the steak 2 min on each side. This left the thinnest piece medium-rare in the middle and the thickest piece with a cool center. When I returned the steaks to the wine sauce, I cooked them for 2:30 on each side. I used an oil splatter shield too. While this was happening, I steamed a bag of frozen green beans in the microwave so that everything was done at the same time. I give the flavour of the steak 4 stars, the 5th star is for being quick 'n' easy. It smells wonderful while cooking and I'd serve it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was soooo great! Tasted like a dinner we'd order in a nice restaurant and pay a pretty penny for. We were just saying that we needed to use mushrooms in the fridge prior to them spoiling in the next couple of days, then found this recipe. My husband cooked it in no time and we had it with a great salad. Really hit the spot, thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States