Easy Fish Tacos with Mango-Pineapple Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I doubt this will be a keeper for us unless we make some big changes to the slaw. The black pepper, vinegar, and jalapeño over whelmed the mango and pineapple. Our recommendations would be to double the fruits, and 1/2 the black pepper and vinegar. We used 1 teaspoon of salt and felt that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
The slaw was absolutely amazing! I used lightly blackened tilapia...not too sure if lemon pepper fish would have worked with the seasoning of the slaw. Otherwise I thought it was great! Will be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jiff Burnell
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I LOVED this! Cheater here: I used frozen fish filets. Like the Gordons breaded ones. It was so good. I made the slaw 2 hours before serving just to let it meld. It did, and it was delightful. Based on reviews, I lessened the salt. I did 3/4 of a tablespoon. I did the full amount of everything else though. I love love love black pepper, and this was a fabulous amount. I didn't have a jalapeño on hand, so I omitted, and it was so awesome. My husband's just said he wants them once a week! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jiff Burnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
The slaw was to die for! I listened to previous posts, and only used 1 teaspoon of the salt and pepper. I also added 2 large jalapenos, one seeded and one not. It could of used another one. This would be good with pork or chicken too! I will definitely be making this one again. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brit
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
The only thing I would change is the salt amount. The slaw was just a tad bit too salty for me, but other than that, I made as is. So awesome!!! Will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These are amazing. I fried my fish and used a recipe from Rhiannon "Fish Batter with Newcaslte Brown Ale". You could use any kind of white fish, I had fresh croppie. I also added a red, yellow, and orange pepper that were diced to give the slaw more crunch...turned out great! The sweetness of the batter and the tang of the slaw went great together. These were the hit of our pool party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This had WAY too much salt, pepper and Vinegar in it - fortunately I cut down the pepper, eliminated the salt because cod and tortilla's have enough salt in them, but unfortunately I didn't cut down the vinegar. It was ruined and way too acidic because of it, even on the mango and pineapple, which could have been nice. I also eliminated the jalapeno pepper because we don't like hot stuff. Also, in my opinion, a fish tortilla needs tomato to taste good. My cod came out great, but we threw away the sauce. Maybe with changes, a teaspoon of pepper, no salt, and a teaspoon or 2 or vinegar, it would have been good. What a shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hazel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
The only reason I can think of that the fish tacos I made didn't turn out too good was because of too much pepper. If I was to try this again, I would do much less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Thanks for the recipe! It's just delicious! I used tilapia instead of cod, but no other changes otherwise. This will be a favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
The fish tacos were very delicious. My boyfriend and I made this twice, and we just love it! Thank you for sharing your recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States