Easy Eggnog Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This stuff was amazing! Wish I had used an instant custard mix instead of the instant pudding mix though (for the flavor). The ice cream turned out creamy, flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefReigns
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Outstanding flavor and easy to make can't beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefReigns

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
The flavor of the icecream depends on the quality of the egg nog. I used some that was made at the dairy creamery that also makes ice cream. It was left over because I forgot we had it. I did not add anything to it...and it is awesome. I added some bananas to another quart and that also turned out very well. Smooth creamy...and very flavorful. I suspect I could add almost anything and the result would be fine---as in real ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
We added crushed candy cane pieces for an extra festive holiday flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a very easy recipe to follow. Great taste and rich.In the future though I will use whole milk. For added flavor add some Rum or Rum extract and Nutmeg. If you would like to make this later in the year, Purchase a couple extra quarts during the holiday season and freeze it.Thaw it completely in the refrigerator before using it for Ice Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Too bad I didn't have this eggnog ice cream FOR Christmas rather than after Christmas! It would have been just perfect for a quick dessert with a couple of Christmas cookies! This was wonderful. I'm fairly experienced with making ice cream so in looking over the recipe I knew it would need to be tinkered with a little. First, for my liking anyway, there's too high a ratio of milk and eggnog to cream which I knew could make this a little icy or grainy - in any event not as smooth and silky as I prefer - so I used a ratio of half eggnog and half heavy cream. I also like a rich, custard-style ice cream so I added a couple of eggs. Finally, no extra sugar was used other than what was in the eggnog, nor was there any vanilla. I knew it would turn out kind of flat, so I added some of each. So...scaling this down to 6 servings to fit my ice cream maker, I used 1-1/2 cups eggnog, 1-1/2 cups heavy cream and 1 tsp. vanilla, which I whisked into 2 eggs beaten with 1/3 cup sugar for 1-2 minutes. As written this really is only a 3-star recipe for the reasons I outlined but I don't want to discourage anyone from trying it because with just a little tweaking this was a delightful, rich, frozen eggnog custard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I hate it when I read a review and they say I love the recipe but made all these changes...... but that is exactly what I'm doing. I followed the advice of the previous reviewer and made the following changes 1-1/2 cups eggnog 1-1/2 cups heavy cream 1 tsp. vanilla 1 tsp. fresh grated nutmeg the previous reviewer said that this way it would not have the ice crystal consistency and they were right! making it this way it was VERY smooth and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
love this recipe; very easy and simple to follow. I don't like overly sweet desserts so this ice cream was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was ok. I followed the recipe to a T and added chocolate chips at the end of freezing. It was ok, but it was pretty bland. I wish I had read the first review listed and added some vanilla, eggs, and sugar to give this more pizazz. It wasn't bad and we'll eat the whole serving for sure, but it could've been better. This was my first time making ice cream in my new ice cream maker so I'm still learning and experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESSHOAGIE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Don't forget to add some Hennessy or booze of choice and the extra cream, fresh nutmeg and vanilla make it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States