Easy, Eggless Strawberry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Since I am from Wisconsin an egg-based custard, as we call it, is what I'm used to. This recipe is proof that ice cream can be rich and delicious even without eggs! I scaled the servings to six so it would fit in my Cuisinart ice cream maker, using a ratio of 2 cups heavy cream to 1 cup half and half, which is what suits my tastes. I cut the vanilla back a bit (1 tsp. for a six serving recipe) and didn't use the food coloring. I added an extra half cup of strawberries, pureeing the first 1-1/2 cups, then just mashing the extra half cup. I didn't want the chunks too big as I know they just become icy and hard. Between the recipe itself and the slight changes I made I found this just perfect--I'm glad I cut back on the vanilla, as I didn't want it to interfere with the simple flavors of strawberries and cream on their own. Also, using the ratio of heavy cream and half and half as I do ensures a rich and creamy ice cream with a smooth mouth feel. The amount of sugar the recipe calls for is just right. I added the salt as well, knowing it heightens flavors and makes it come to life, tho' this could easily be omitted. This is such a basic and easy recipe that it would work equally as well with other fruits, maybe only having to adjust the sugar depending on the sweetness of the fruit. Nothing's better than a cooked, frozen custard, but this quick and easy ice cream is a fine runner-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I HATE it when reviewers review a recipe and say it was great because they changed the original recipe; but after reading others' reviews on this ice cream, I made the following changes with outstanding results: I put in just a dash of salt and cut back on the vanilla to 1 tsp., but added 1 tsp. of strawberry extract and I pureed the strawberries just a little--the frozen chunks of strawberries were just a little too hard. This was a fantastic recipe to begin with, but I just "doctored" it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This was a very easy, very tasty recipe but be very careful as this makes way more than many ice cream makers can handle. It overflowed initially when I went to pour it in then while it churned and got larger it overflowed again even though I took alot of it out. Great tasting ice cream though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I used whole milk and half and half (instead of cream). No food coloring. Used frozen strawberries that I thawed. Blended all with a wand blender before I put it in the ice cream maker. Delicious! Easy. Fit in my std. ice cream maker just fine (no over-filling.) Took about 40 min. to process in machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I don't like eating raw eggs, therefore I was quite happy when I saw this recipe. This ice cream is the best ice cream. I used 2% milk since that's what was in the house. I did not add salt since I never add salt to anything I cook. Plus, have never heard of adding salt to ice cream, yuck. The color was a beautiful light pink and so tasty. I will make this again. I bought organic strawberries from the farmers market. I cut the recipe in half, but I only used 1/2 ts of vanilla since I didn't have the recipe in front of me and I couldn't remember what the recipe called for.This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I agree with Shawn--it is very refreshing on a hot day. I had to taste it as soon as it was ready, and it is delicious. I had a cup of crushed strawberries instead of the full 2 cups, but it was plenty for us. I used 1% milk and evaporated milk, since I didn't have cream. Very good strawberry flavor. I do think 1/4 teaspoon of salt is too much, so I added 1/8 teaspoon. Even that was a little too much for me; I will only add a pinch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Pretty yummy for being eggless- I'm pregnant so don't want to risk raw eggs :) It can't compare to homemade ice cream WITH eggs, but since I can't have that, it was a good substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Good recipe - but way too vanilla-ey for me. I'd leave the vanilla out all together next time. All I could taste was the vanilla. The ice cream came out nicely, however, the consistency and taste was still good. I just wanted a very berry taste and the addition of the vanilla took away from the berry taste completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Creamy texture and so easy to make. Both kids and adults loved it. So easy to adapt to other fruits and flavors. Definitely a keeper. Chris, Kennewick, WA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This recipe was fantastic. I had some frozen raspberries I really needed to use up so I used them instead. I also used 1% milk instead of whole and it was still very rich and creamy. I am going to use the recipe again very, very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States