Easy, Eggless Strawberry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I REALLY should have read the other reviews on scaling back (plus I guess my owners manual) before doing this recipe. I had a huge mess and it overflowed my Cuisinart (the very first thing I made in it). Being February good strawberries are hard to find without paying a fortune. I used a bag of frozen and put them in the food processor frozen. I did leave out the red food dye. But this was REALLY good! Will definitely make it again but this time (less) if my ice cream maker isn't dead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I used whole milk and half and half (instead of cream). No food coloring. Used frozen strawberries that I thawed. Blended all with a wand blender before I put it in the ice cream maker. Delicious! Easy. Fit in my std. ice cream maker just fine (no over-filling.) Took about 40 min. to process in machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Great recipe, love how its eggless... I used 1 carton of strawberries. Chopped 2/3 into very tiny pieces, then purred the remaining 1/3 with the sugar and vanilla. Did not use the food colouring as for me I try and keep things natural. By using both purred and diced strawberries the colour was a pretty pale pink with little ripples of strawberries through out - just perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
We all loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This recipe is amazing! Very light and smooth texture. I used one cup of heavy cream, one cup half and half, and 2 cups of 1% milk. I also used a thawed tub of frozen strawberries, and mashed them. Quick, easy, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icooknaked

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This recipe is absolutely delicious! It is a bit much on the heavy cream I think, next time I'll try to cut it back to a cup and a half instead and see how it goes. I also used 1% milk instead of whole milk and it turned out great. I pureed the strawberries, then added some smaller chunks of it because my family likes fruit chunks in ice cream and it worked out really well. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This ice cream was delicious, don't get me wrong-- while pouring it into the ice cream maker I couldn't help licking my fingers-- but it was way too creamy for my taste. In its frozen state it felt like I was drinking strawberry-flavored cream from the container. The fat is still coating my mouth. In the future I'd use more milk instead of cream, for sure. It was, however, ridiculously easy to make, and I'd consider making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I was not a big fan of how the ice cream set up. I thought the flavor was okay, I will be returning to a tried and true family recipe, but thought this one was worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Yummy! Wonderful with fresh picked strawberries, doesn't need food coloring. Better than any store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Very good - can't give it less than 5 stars. I didn't use all the liquid called for as I knew it would overflow in my machine, so I used 2 cups heavy (whipping) cream, and 1 cup whole (homo) milk. It was just fine, and a pretty colour too. I pureed the strawberries in the food processor, with the sugar. Next time, I may just mash them as they turned out a bit liquid-y this way. But it all came together and tasted delicious - very "fresh".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States