Easy, Eggless Strawberry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Made recipe exactly as is, and it was awesome. The BEST flavor of ice cream I've made to date. So delicious when made with fresh berries at the peak of the season -- deep red and super-sweet. My husband loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I found an old hand crank ice cream maker in my parent's basement. I cleaned it up and was looking for a recipe that was simple, quick, and easy. This is it. I made the recipe exactly as it was written and my family has just raved about it. The second time I made it, I used fresh raspberries instead of strawberries. I can hardly wait to try this recipe with peaches now that they are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Absolutely love this recipe. I wanted an eggless recipe since I have an infant and wasn't sure about feeding her any made with uncooked eggs. My whole family looks forward to strawberry season just bc of this ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Super easy and super yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Shiffer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This tastes exactly like the ice-cream my Grandfather used to make for us when he was alive, circa 1970's! A taste of nostalgia and heaven! I never add the food coloring, and sometimes use whole milk and half & half if I don't have the heavy cream. I make this all summer long and my guests always want the (simple) recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericablueeyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
So easy and delish. Have made 5 times in 2 weeks. It is very soft when completed in my electric ice cream maker so I have to freeze it for a bit before I can scoop it into cones. I only add 3/4 c sugar and find no difference in taste or texture. Definitely have to mash up the berries because they don't taste good in chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Rich, creamy, and strawberrylicious! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was simple to make. It was also really creamy and delicious! I used only fresh strawberries and added about a 1/2 cup extra strawberries. I left out the food coloring b/c the berries were so ripe they colored the ice cream. I definitely recommend trying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Li

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Not as rich or creamy as ice cream made with eggs, but still very good, and very easy to prepare. Excellent flavor. I found the food coloring to be completely unnecessary. I made it with small strawberries from my CSA supplier; your results may be different if you use the larger berries typically found in supermarkets. To simplify the preparation, I used 4 cups of half & half instead of the milk and cream, and was happy with the results. The seeds were not a problem for me like for some other reviewers. I mashed the berries with a fork, and was left with some large chunks that froze and were unpleasantly icey. Next time I'll be careful to mash them better. And I WILL be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I have seen people talk about how they do not like to eat raw eggs. You should never eat raw eggs. The recipes that call for eggs should be cooked. That recipe calls for the eggs,milk,salt, and sugar to be cooked before adding it to the other 1/2 of the recipe. It is called a custard style ice cream. Many like the custard style because it does have a richer flavor and smoother texture than regular ice cream. I agree with naples34102, half & half works great and adds the richer flavor similar to custard style recipes! Also when filling your ice cream freezer, never fill it over 3/4 of capacity to allow room for the ice cream to expand as it freezes. It will save you $ from wasting your ice cream mixture and a huge mess! You can always make as much ice cream as you want. All you have to do is put the frozen ice cream from your electric ice cream maker in a container with a lid in your refridgerator's freezer and make as many batches and flavors as you want, as long as you have the room in your freezer. Your ice cream will also be harder if kept in your fridge/freezer before eating it. This recipe was great and so EASY! No more cooking the custard style, (which takes a lot longer to make), for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States