Easy, Eggless Strawberry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was so good! I made it for teenage girls and they loved it. Very good recipe and super easy. I have made this several more times and substituted the strawberries for 1 cup of rasperries and it is amazing. You can also omit the rasperries and add more vanilla and it makes perfect Vanilla ice cream too. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverdale, Utah, USA
Living In: Midvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I love this recipe. Like someone else recommended I used just a tsp of vanilla and added another tsp of strawberry extract. As someone who loves ice cream but doesn't like eggs, I found this recipe perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Sterling, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Wow! This is so great! I made it for a surprise Valentine's dinner two days from now, but can't stay out of it! I used one cup heavy cream, one cup skim milk and two cups of heavy cream. I also reduced the vanilla to one teaspoon and I did add the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Since I am from Wisconsin an egg-based custard, as we call it, is what I'm used to. This recipe is proof that ice cream can be rich and delicious even without eggs! I scaled the servings to six so it would fit in my Cuisinart ice cream maker, using a ratio of 2 cups heavy cream to 1 cup half and half, which is what suits my tastes. I cut the vanilla back a bit (1 tsp. for a six serving recipe) and didn't use the food coloring. I added an extra half cup of strawberries, pureeing the first 1-1/2 cups, then just mashing the extra half cup. I didn't want the chunks too big as I know they just become icy and hard. Between the recipe itself and the slight changes I made I found this just perfect--I'm glad I cut back on the vanilla, as I didn't want it to interfere with the simple flavors of strawberries and cream on their own. Also, using the ratio of heavy cream and half and half as I do ensures a rich and creamy ice cream with a smooth mouth feel. The amount of sugar the recipe calls for is just right. I added the salt as well, knowing it heightens flavors and makes it come to life, tho' this could easily be omitted. This is such a basic and easy recipe that it would work equally as well with other fruits, maybe only having to adjust the sugar depending on the sweetness of the fruit. Nothing's better than a cooked, frozen custard, but this quick and easy ice cream is a fine runner-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is a fabulous recipe. The taste made my hubby smile when he tasted it. You can't even tell that it doesn't have egg. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Great recipe with wonderful taste & texture! We made this today using fat free Half & Half for the cream & only a dash of salt. It was easy to make & freeze with the ice cream attachment to our mixer. This is the best recipe we've found & we plan to try it with other flavors soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gianna Rose Allen
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This ice cream recipe is excellent. The texture of the ice cream is smooth which I have not found with other recipes. So easy to make with just a couple of ingredients and stores very well. I have to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gianna Rose Allen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I love this recipe just as it is (minus food coloring - it doesn't need it). I've made it several times, and it's so easy that my kids make it, too. I used blackberries instead of strawberries tonight and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASUISSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Easy to do. I didn't need the food coloring because the strawberries made it pink. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
My husband and I thought this was delicious. It was very creamy! We followed the directions exactly and wouldn't change a thing (except maybe add some chocolate chips or shavings because I love chocolate and strawberries)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States