Easy Eggless Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I have never made cake without eggs before but I had to have chocolate cake!! This turned out perfect, soft and moist with a nice chocolate taste. Made it in a 9" round cake pan without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I baked this cake for my son's birthday party and atleast three people asked me if I had baked it myself. Apparantly the children thought it was wonderful. It was a joy to give my son something other than a very sweet chocolate crisy cake. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
We love this cake! We skipped the icing in order to make it dairy-free for vegan guests, and baked them into cupcakes for my daughter's fifth birthday party. Nobody believed they were vegan! And I had no cake flour, I just used all-purpose flour and they were moist and tender and delicious, even two days later when stored in an airtight container. For reviewers who complain about too little chocolate flavor, you should really only buy good quality cocoa for any of your recipes: low-quality cocoa really ruins a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARRIDANN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
i made it for my true vegetarian neighbors. they all loved it including my son. he said always make this, it tastes better without eggs. i went and bought cake flour. if u dont have cake flour all purpose is ok, it has the same ingrdients as cake flour. and i put regular betty crocker chocolate frosting on the cake as soon as it came out of oven so the frosting dripped down the 8x8 glass pan into cake and it was a very thin layer of frosting. the cake is sweet enough and chocolatey. ADD THE VINEGAR LAST, OK TO MIX WITH ELECTRIC HAND MIXER. after it is mixed it very runny(watery)it looked as if it would not rise in oven but it did wonderfully. kids really love this cake..im going to make it again tomorrow. it was fairly easy to make. COMES OUT VERY MOIST. i sprayed the pan with pam....NOT TOO MUCH OHTERWISE THE EDGES GET CRUSTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I used this cake for a homemade ice cream cake for my egg-allergic daughter's 1st birthday. The cake tasted better than the other ice cream cake I served to the guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This is very moist and is especially appealing because there are no eggs! Using whole wheat flour worked wonderfully, and made it even healthier. This cake is perfect with just powdered sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 221BBAKERSTREET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frostburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Berryville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Deeelicious! The best chocolate Cake I've ever had. I made this recipe because my Nephew is allergic to Eggs and therefore, I searched hi and low for an eggless cake and I've found it on your website. I added Vanilla Icing from Betty Crocker and added pink candy sparkles since I had made this cake for Easter. It was a huge hit with the kids and big kids (Adaults) too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conkhouz99

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
So moist it almost melts in your mouth for up to a week! It stays very moist and very fresh, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by messyishere
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This cake was so good. I made it for my son's first birthday and it was a hit. Everyone was scared to taste, but after tasting it they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messyishere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I found this cake to be most like prepackaged cake mixes than any other I have tried. Although I am usually a from scratch baker, I haven't found a from scratch cupcake recipe I really like that is as moist and yummy as Pillsbury or Betty Crocker...until now! This recipe fit the bill. I will no longer be subjected to the supermarket prepackaged cake mixes in order to prepare something that is quick, easy, and delicious. I received rave reviews and did not experience the "glue-like" taste others noted. In the future, I would like to try it without the cocoa and see if it passes muster as a vanilla cake, too. If anyone tries this, please post it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momto4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States