Easy Eggless Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
Not the prettiest cake I ever made, but still very good and moist! Yum! Quick, Easy, and Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
I was pleased with this cake. It was very moist, almost "gluey", with a very chocolatey flavor. I used a mixer to beat the dry ingredients for 1 minute to aerate and fully mix (I learned this from "The Cake Bible").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I have never made cake without eggs before but I had to have chocolate cake!! This turned out perfect, soft and moist with a nice chocolate taste. Made it in a 9" round cake pan without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I baked this cake for my son's birthday party and atleast three people asked me if I had baked it myself. Apparantly the children thought it was wonderful. It was a joy to give my son something other than a very sweet chocolate crisy cake. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
We love this cake! We skipped the icing in order to make it dairy-free for vegan guests, and baked them into cupcakes for my daughter's fifth birthday party. Nobody believed they were vegan! And I had no cake flour, I just used all-purpose flour and they were moist and tender and delicious, even two days later when stored in an airtight container. For reviewers who complain about too little chocolate flavor, you should really only buy good quality cocoa for any of your recipes: low-quality cocoa really ruins a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARRIDANN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This cake is moist but tastes like glue! it has NO chocolate taste what so ever, what a disappointment. Dont be fooled by other reviews this is terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS. FISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gillett, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
i made it for my true vegetarian neighbors. they all loved it including my son. he said always make this, it tastes better without eggs. i went and bought cake flour. if u dont have cake flour all purpose is ok, it has the same ingrdients as cake flour. and i put regular betty crocker chocolate frosting on the cake as soon as it came out of oven so the frosting dripped down the 8x8 glass pan into cake and it was a very thin layer of frosting. the cake is sweet enough and chocolatey. ADD THE VINEGAR LAST, OK TO MIX WITH ELECTRIC HAND MIXER. after it is mixed it very runny(watery)it looked as if it would not rise in oven but it did wonderfully. kids really love this cake..im going to make it again tomorrow. it was fairly easy to make. COMES OUT VERY MOIST. i sprayed the pan with pam....NOT TOO MUCH OHTERWISE THE EDGES GET CRUSTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
My boyfriend is allergic to eggs, and he loves chocolate, so I thought I would give it a try. I doubled the chocolate in the cake and put a cream cheese icing on top. I thought it was really good for an eggless cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I used this cake for a homemade ice cream cake for my egg-allergic daughter's 1st birthday. The cake tasted better than the other ice cream cake I served to the guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This is very moist and is especially appealing because there are no eggs! Using whole wheat flour worked wonderfully, and made it even healthier. This cake is perfect with just powdered sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 221BBAKERSTREET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frostburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Berryville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States