Easy Eggless Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I loved this recipe. I did change it slightly...I added 3 additional tablespoons of cocoa powder, 1 tsp. more vanilla, and 1/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips and hazelnuts. It was moist and delicious! I didn't have any of that "soapy" taste two others wrote about. I found this to be one of the best recipes for chocolate cake I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Awesome recipe. I made this cake not because I'm vegan or allergic to eggs, but because I was out of eggs one day and had a sweet tooth. I'll admit my expectations were very low and I did not expect an eggless cake to be able to compare with normal cakes, but I decided to give it a shot anyway. I am so glad I did, this cake was better than boxed or any other recipe I've tried. I used this recipe again two nights ago even when I had eggs because it is so easy! My only reason for not giving it 5 stars is that I did have to double the amount of cocoa powder I put into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This cake was perfect for my son's 2nd birthday party. I made it and a second regular cake (it is a small cake) and everyone wanted the eggless. I used a different icing from the carrot cupcakes with white chocolate and cream cheese. I also added more (1/4 cup) cocoa like another person suggested plus I used dark chocolate cocoa. It was wonderful, and did not taste like it was missing anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Hi there, this is my first review/helpful hint, this eggless cake is great, a family friend is allergic to eggs and when I found this recipe I thought it was a god send. My family is not too big on frosting on cakes, we found that the amount of coco in this recipe to be lacking so we exchanged the amount of coco with the amount in the frosting and added 2 tablespoons more (1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons). It came out still very moist and tastes really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is a really simple recipe and the cake comes out tasting great. I only made one difference since other reviews said that it did not have enough of a chocolate taste; I added 1/4 cup cocoa to the cake instead of 3 tablespoons and it tasted fine to me. Nice and moist! I did not need to add frosting since it was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I have no complaints about this cake! My daughter is allergic to eggs and this works great for us - I make cupcakes and freeze several of them so I can take them when we go to birthday parties and other places where cakes will be present. They are great fresh or after being frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I found this cake to be most like prepackaged cake mixes than any other I have tried. Although I am usually a from scratch baker, I haven't found a from scratch cupcake recipe I really like that is as moist and yummy as Pillsbury or Betty Crocker...until now! This recipe fit the bill. I will no longer be subjected to the supermarket prepackaged cake mixes in order to prepare something that is quick, easy, and delicious. I received rave reviews and did not experience the "glue-like" taste others noted. In the future, I would like to try it without the cocoa and see if it passes muster as a vanilla cake, too. If anyone tries this, please post it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momto4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Well I don't know how to describe the flavor. I know what one reviewer meant by tastes like glue, for me it was like it was soapy. The texture was great and yes it is moist. Sift the flour, then sift all dry ingredients again together. Add viegar last and you will get a nice textured cake, but the subtle soap flavour sort of kills it. I would experiment again and see if I can get rid of the soapy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by messyishere
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This cake was so good. I made it for my son's first birthday and it was a hit. Everyone was scared to taste, but after tasting it they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messyishere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
So moist it almost melts in your mouth for up to a week! It stays very moist and very fresh, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States