Easy Eggless Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I tried this cake twice. Per recipe, it has a VERY sticky, funky texture and barely any chocolate taste. Modified, I added 1/4 cup cocoa and used applesauce in place of the oil. This actually improved the taste and texture a bit, but not enough. Frosting covers it up some, but I can't get over the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
this is definitely easy to make and very moist! i made 12 cupcakes, (16 minutes in the oven). The flavour is decent, it kind of tastes a bit bland at first, but grows on you hah. As the other reviewers have commented, it does have a bit of that 'soapy' taste, maybe too much baking soda? I think after you add icing, it would help. I would also use this as a base for adding other things to enhance its flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
First of all, this is the best EGGLESS cake I have eaten. Don't compare it to a cake with eggs - it is not fair. It was easy to assemble. I used a wire whisk to aerate the dry ingredients before adding the wet ingredients. I also doubled the cocoa and added the vinegar last as suggested by other reviewers. The icing made more than was needed for the cake. This is not an overly sweet cake, but it hit the spot and satisfied the our yearning for something chocolatey and a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Gomen Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I have had this reciept for years.It was used during the depression . And the reason I was on the computer was to see if I could find it as I lost my card. My kids love it and I sometimes put in a tablespoon of instant coffee , add nuts and what ever for changes, as it makes it a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I work for a vegetarian company and this cake is a favorite. I get requests for it once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by simplyaly
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I made this cake with my brother for his wife's birthday and it was fantastic! Very quick and easy to make, and tasted delicious! I followed the suggestions made by previous bakers and made the following adjustments to the recipe: 1) Added an additional 1 tbsp of cocoa powder. 2) Added the vinegar last, and immediately poured the batter into the prepared pan, and popped it into the preheated oven. The only draw back to this recipe was the amount of frosting I had left over! I only used about 1/2 of the frosting recipe and I was being quite generous (to the point that it was pouring off the cake!). I would recommend that bakers make double the cake recipe and make a two tiered cake - one recipe of the frosting will be just enough to make a frosting layer! Also, when making the frosting, I recommend to continue mixing/whisking the frosting for about 10 minutes. The cocoa will eventually dissolve and you'll be left with this amazing ganache-like consistency. It spreads on really smooth and stays glossy when warm no matter how many times your spread it. Enjoy! this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Made this for my twin daughters 6th bday--one of my girls has egg allergies. It was very moist but lacked flavor despite my use of high quality chocolate. Will try again and tweak the recipe some. Has potential just seems to be lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASTRONG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Tried this when I had a serious chocolate craving but no eggs in the house, and it definitely exceeded my expectations! I doubled the cocoa powder per other reviewers' suggestions and ended up with a rich and very moist cake that I happened to love. 4-stars because I seemed to be the cake's biggest fan--a friend of mine even remarked that it tasted like a "healthy cake" and not in a good way--so I probably won't be making it again if I have eggs on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I tried this recipe today for my son's first B'day..Great Hit.I added chocolate granules in batter...lovely cake..thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I like the cake.It is moist.It is bit "soapy",but I added a bit of 1-2 tbsp chocolate liquor (or artificial chocolate flavor ) can fix the problem .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States