Easy Egg and Avocado Breakfast Burrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
We have made breakfast burritos for years at our house. In addition to scrambled eggs, I would recommend using queso fresco (a mexican white cheese) which crumbles well instead of cottage cheese, salsa instead of ketchup, and add sliced avocado or guacamole. Can also add chopped tomato and use whole wheat tortillas for added nutrition. Makes a good quick meal anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cates18
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I was looking for a recipe that used eggs and avocadoes and came across this one! I deviated from this recipe by using the "Gourmet Guacamole" recipe and used roasted red pepper strips instead of salsa. I also didn't have any cottage cheese, so I used crumbled goat cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
These were a nice twist on same ol' same ol' breakfast! I used sliced avocado, scrambled my eggs with a little onion, Worchester Sauce and seasoned salt. And I used multigrain tortilla shells. Delish. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I thought Husband would like a change from the usual scrambled egg/bacon/cheese/salsa breakfast burritos I make him, but unfortunately I was wrong. He managed a few bites but said he really didn't like it; I had a taste, and had to agree. Not a good combination of flavors, and the sloppy texture is also pretty off-putting. Oh well, thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Even with the substitution of salsa for the ketchup these didn't make the grade with us this morning. Basically mushy and flavorless, these would be so much better with some seasoning, some vegetables for color, flavor and texture, and even some meat - sausage, bacon or ham maybe? Didn't care for the addition of the cottage cheese at all, and the look and mouthfeel of this in general, as another reviewer put it, was simply offputting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I thought it was very good if you are an avocado fan like I am. I did alter it a little though and made more of a basic guacamole instead of plain avocado (guacamole seasoning and lime juice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
It was delicious! To cut out some of the fat I didn't add any cheddar cheese but instead cut tomatoes and added them in. It was very delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
it was so good, it was like i was in heaven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Great recipe, although I did not follow exactly. Was looking for a breakfast idea with avocado...so this came up and was the perfect starting point. I did my scramble the way I normally do (salt, pepper, and a random spice; essence or tumeric...anything that will give it a little extra something). Browned the tortillas, once on the second side I put goat cheeese and let it soften while browning the tortilla. Removed from heat, added thinly sliced avocado, then the scrambled eggs and that was it. Cottage cheese and ketchup did not seem right with this. But I didn't try it. Thanks for the idea, we really enjoyed this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
It was good, a bit messy. Added onions to the eggs and tomatoes to the guacamole. Would use no more than 2 eb next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States