Easy Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I made this last night and we loved it! I had to use vegetable broth over chicken to make the dish vegetarian, and I also added a bit of cubed medium firm tofu to the pot. I think the concept of "a bunch" of green onions must vary, I used only one little stalk and I think if I had used more than two it would have been onion soup! Nevertheless, it turned out very tasty. I added a bit of chili sauce to my bowl and I think next time I will add a couple teaspoons of it to the whole pot. It was a very flavourful "chicken-y" tasting soup, which I haven't had since I went vegetarian 10 years ago. Excellent for when someone is feeling a bit under the weather -- it was also simple/cheap to make! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Easy and quite yummy. Didn't use green onions, we don't like them, but otherwise made as written. We make it with bacon fried rice. Always yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notabrat1
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I make this soup all the time with those little packets from the grocery store. You know, the ones with all the preservatives and ingredients you can't even pronounce, let alone want to eat. Well this is soup is just as good, if not better and just as easy. My kids LOVED it, and between the 3 of us, we finished the whole pot. Thanks so much for the recipe, now I can make this at home anytime I want. P.S. The only change I made to the recipe was to use chicken broth where it called for water, so as not to dilute the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pampered Chef Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
We followed the recipe exactly and found it bland with no flavour depth. The recipe was very easy and the ingredients were easy to get, but we did not enjoy eating it very much. 4 servings will end up getting tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I left out the cornstarch and it now tastes like the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sharenmoore
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Sooo easy to make hubby live it! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Too much soy sauce flavor. Didn't really taste like the egg drop soups I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by travelingguitargirl
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
5 Stars and Thanks for sharing. This recipe was so good on the first cold night of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by travelingguitargirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Maybe it's because I have the flu, but I failed miserably at this recipe. It came out like pudding, and not very flavorful. I think I will try again with little to NO cornstarch, and a bit more of something...not sure what just yet. I won't give a rating until I know it's not me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Perfect! So easy and yummy (even with so few ingredients)! I added some Trader Joe's chicken & cilantro mini wontons, and served with egg rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States