Easy Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Made it almost exactly as written, however, instead of green onions, I used a couple shakes of minced onion, garlic powder, and ground ginger. It was marvelous! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This was a very good recipe, particularly considering how few ingredients are in it! I used one 32 oz. container of chicken broth and only 1 T of soy sauce. I also did not add water to the beaten eggs and used dried chives instead of green onions. To get more traditional egg consistency, stir soup gently and drizzle egg into soup. After a few seconds, draw a spoon through soup and the egg will swirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYHEN
Living In: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Oh my goodness! This was delicious :) I love egg drop soup, and this tasted almost exactly like the stuff you can get in a restaurant. I'd suggest using a wide-pronged fork to stir the egg if you like bigger chunks of egg in your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Really easy, which is what I needed while I'm ill. I started with homemade chicken broth and went from there. Next time I make this, I'll increase the cornstarch and decrease the soy sauce by half (it tasted way too much like soy sauce). Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I gave this 5 stars! me and hubby just finished eating this recipe for dinner few mins ago with toasted bread.. its superb! im surprised with its simplicity but delicious taste... I followed the ingre. just added some cube carrots and parsley on top. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We also didn't have green onion and sauteed some onion instead. I will probably try the dry minced onion from other viewers as the sauteed onion was too powerful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was kick a**. Loved it. Added fresh mushrooms... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
not what i was expecting. i was hoping it would taste more like the soup in chinese restaurants, and it was too soupy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
tasted just like resaraunt style!! I made healthy modifications by using low sodium chicken broth, omitted the sugar and cornstarch. I also added 2 more egg whites and 1/2 package extra firm tofu for more protien. My dad thought I picked up chinese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I'm giving it five stars not just because it tasted wonderful, but because it was so easy AND my very picky 5 year old loved it! I followed the advice of a few previous reviewers and made the following tweaks: added 1/8t ground ginger, 1/4t garlic powder and 1t dried onion flakes (because I didn't have any green onions on hand), and only added a scant tablespoon of water instead of two to the egg, then swirled it gently once I added it to the broth. It smelled heavenly, looked like something I'd picked up from our favorite Chinese restaurant, and could not have taken more than 10 minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States