Easy Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
easy to make, tastes good, but i think i would add some garlic next time :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manila
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I didn't try this one--made it for bf--but he seemed to like it. Doesn't look exactly like what they serve at Chinese restaurants, but the title doesn't pretend to that. Not sure I dropped in the eggs correctly, as the eggs seemed much different than what I'm used to seeing. I did better with the Hot and Sour Chicken Soup, ironically, though it was only one egg. Maybe it takes practice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
What a great, simple recipe! I doubled this recipe because I knew it was a winner (and maybe added a little more water). Thanks posting this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
My daughter has a touch of the flu, and thought that some egg drop soup would be comforting. I tried this easy recipe, and it was delicious! I did not have any green onions or scallions, so I substituted fresh garlic. My daughter loved it....it's a great comfort food, and nutritious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Really easy, which is what I needed while I'm ill. I started with homemade chicken broth and went from there. Next time I make this, I'll increase the cornstarch and decrease the soy sauce by half (it tasted way too much like soy sauce). Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
tasted just like resaraunt style!! I made healthy modifications by using low sodium chicken broth, omitted the sugar and cornstarch. I also added 2 more egg whites and 1/2 package extra firm tofu for more protien. My dad thought I picked up chinese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Oh my goodness! This was delicious :) I love egg drop soup, and this tasted almost exactly like the stuff you can get in a restaurant. I'd suggest using a wide-pronged fork to stir the egg if you like bigger chunks of egg in your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This was a very good recipe, particularly considering how few ingredients are in it! I used one 32 oz. container of chicken broth and only 1 T of soy sauce. I also did not add water to the beaten eggs and used dried chives instead of green onions. To get more traditional egg consistency, stir soup gently and drizzle egg into soup. After a few seconds, draw a spoon through soup and the egg will swirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYHEN
Living In: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This recipe was delicious and perfect for the night after an exhausting day. I will definitely make this again! I later added a touch of sesame oil and garlic because I love those flavors, but the base recipe is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
A nice, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States