Easy Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I enjoyed this recipe. I used chocolate cake mix instead of yellow. It was sweet, dense and moist and needed no icing. My kids really enjoyed it. I didn't use the chocolate chips, but I think I will next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
moist, delicious, easy, maintains taste after being frozen....even taste good cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
You don't know what delicious chocolate cake is till you try this. My husband took the leftovers into work where he has an all girl staff! They raved about it - so moist - you don't need icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This cake was excellent! And soooo easy to make. The only change I made to the recipe was substituting peanut butter chips for the chocolate chips. It was a big hit at our Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I use chocolate cake mix and omitt chocolate chips and it was delicious and very chocolaty. very moist and everybody likes it. Five star for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I just made this cake and it is absolutely delicious. I do not own a bundt pan so I used a 9x13 pan and baked it until done using the toothpick method. I also sprinkled sugar in the cake pan after spraying it with Pam. Came out perfectly. Will defintly be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Mixed and baked this as described, but I guess I should have figured that if the cake came out dense for others, perhaps I should have made an adjustment for high altitude even though I usually don't have to do that with cake recipes. This one was more like a brownie, and crumbly - and it sank in the middle and formed a tunnel about 1-1/2 inches deep! I probably could have filled the sunken in part with ice cream and turned it into an ice cream cake, but wasn't prepared with ice cream to do that. It does taste okay, though. Just that if I was going to wait for something to bake, I'd stick to one of the other recipes that I have used in the past. Thought I'd try something new, but probably will use one of my other recipes next time, unless I feel like making an ice cream tunnel cake in the future. Very disappointing "flat" cake in my pretty cake stand...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This was a very heavy cake. It was heavy and sugary. I dont see the need for the extra sugar even. This was not the cake for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I made this in a 13x9 pan and added chocolate frosting. Cake was good but not that special -- we would have been just as happy making the boxed mix with no special ingredients. Also when using a 13x9 pan, the cake kind of fell in the middle. Maybe I'll try this again in a bundt pan and skip the frosting so the cake flavor can stand on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
5 stars because the recipe was soooo easy. I will try it next time with a different mix of flavors- maybe strawberry cake and vanilla pudding. I thought the choc. chips would melt and they didn't - so beware- I used mini and people thought they were raisins which may be a turn off. I'll use regular or even chunks next time. I still can't figure out why you have to "fold" the sour cream in- I didn't get a very even batter because of this- if anyone knows please email me! hesantone@msn.com. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States