Easy Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Mixed and baked this as described, but I guess I should have figured that if the cake came out dense for others, perhaps I should have made an adjustment for high altitude even though I usually don't have to do that with cake recipes. This one was more like a brownie, and crumbly - and it sank in the middle and formed a tunnel about 1-1/2 inches deep! I probably could have filled the sunken in part with ice cream and turned it into an ice cream cake, but wasn't prepared with ice cream to do that. It does taste okay, though. Just that if I was going to wait for something to bake, I'd stick to one of the other recipes that I have used in the past. Thought I'd try something new, but probably will use one of my other recipes next time, unless I feel like making an ice cream tunnel cake in the future. Very disappointing "flat" cake in my pretty cake stand...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This was a very heavy cake. It was heavy and sugary. I dont see the need for the extra sugar even. This was not the cake for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I made this in a 13x9 pan and added chocolate frosting. Cake was good but not that special -- we would have been just as happy making the boxed mix with no special ingredients. Also when using a 13x9 pan, the cake kind of fell in the middle. Maybe I'll try this again in a bundt pan and skip the frosting so the cake flavor can stand on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
5 stars because the recipe was soooo easy. I will try it next time with a different mix of flavors- maybe strawberry cake and vanilla pudding. I thought the choc. chips would melt and they didn't - so beware- I used mini and people thought they were raisins which may be a turn off. I'll use regular or even chunks next time. I still can't figure out why you have to "fold" the sour cream in- I didn't get a very even batter because of this- if anyone knows please email me! hesantone@msn.com. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This was a HUGE hit last night at a party. Made it exactly as directed.I sifted some powdered sugar over the top to pretty it up a bit. I was actually trying to find a recipe that a friend gave me years ago and looked here for something with similar ingredients. Found this one and with a little tweaking was able to reconstruct an old favorite. Big bonus...I was able to bake two fabulous cakes last night that were the talk of the party! To make the other cake I reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup, exchanged the chocolate pudding for vanilla, exchanged the choc. chips for toffee bits, (the kind that also has chocolate like a Heath or Skor bar) and put in half the batter then half the toffee bits then the rest of the batter and ended with the toffee bits. YUMMMMM I will warn you to remove the cake about 5 minutes after removing it from the oven. The candy will stick to the sides so you may have to remove portions from the pan. A sprinkling of the powdered sugar helps to disguise any "cutting and pasting" Thank you so much for posting this recipe you helped me to revive a much loved cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
EXCELLENT! I made it for a Christmas Eve dinner party and everyone raved. Even my husband, who is not a dessert eater! The only problem I had is that I needed to cook the cake for an additional 15 minutes, but I suspect that's a problem with my oven. Just do the toothpick test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This is almost the first to go at pot luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Very yummy and moist!! Easy recipe and one in which you can use variety and not mess it up. I use vanilla pudding and white chocolate chips and everyone just loved it. I think I'll try strawberry cake, vanilla pudding and white chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I have been wanting to try this cake for a while, and now that I am munching a slice still warm...I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could! This is SO MUCH BETTER than your average box cake, I used dark chocolate cake mix and peanut butter chips, and it is outrageously good! One tip, have a good hand mixer, cause the batter can be pretty thick. Thank you for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
love this cake!!! My mom use to make this for me all the time. It's so easy to make even kids can do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States