Easy Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This was a HUGE hit last night at a party. Made it exactly as directed.I sifted some powdered sugar over the top to pretty it up a bit. I was actually trying to find a recipe that a friend gave me years ago and looked here for something with similar ingredients. Found this one and with a little tweaking was able to reconstruct an old favorite. Big bonus...I was able to bake two fabulous cakes last night that were the talk of the party! To make the other cake I reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup, exchanged the chocolate pudding for vanilla, exchanged the choc. chips for toffee bits, (the kind that also has chocolate like a Heath or Skor bar) and put in half the batter then half the toffee bits then the rest of the batter and ended with the toffee bits. YUMMMMM I will warn you to remove the cake about 5 minutes after removing it from the oven. The candy will stick to the sides so you may have to remove portions from the pan. A sprinkling of the powdered sugar helps to disguise any "cutting and pasting" Thank you so much for posting this recipe you helped me to revive a much loved cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
EXCELLENT! I made it for a Christmas Eve dinner party and everyone raved. Even my husband, who is not a dessert eater! The only problem I had is that I needed to cook the cake for an additional 15 minutes, but I suspect that's a problem with my oven. Just do the toothpick test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This is almost the first to go at pot luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Very yummy and moist!! Easy recipe and one in which you can use variety and not mess it up. I use vanilla pudding and white chocolate chips and everyone just loved it. I think I'll try strawberry cake, vanilla pudding and white chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I have been wanting to try this cake for a while, and now that I am munching a slice still warm...I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could! This is SO MUCH BETTER than your average box cake, I used dark chocolate cake mix and peanut butter chips, and it is outrageously good! One tip, have a good hand mixer, cause the batter can be pretty thick. Thank you for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
love this cake!!! My mom use to make this for me all the time. It's so easy to make even kids can do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I've made this recipe at least 10 times for my family, and they absolutely love me for it. It is by far the best and easiest dessert recipe in existence. I recently found a way to enjoy the same great taste in a lower calorie version of the recipe because some of my friends are health nutters and would not try any baked goods of mine unless they were sugar free and or fat free. I used the same yellow cake mix (but you could substitute a whole wheat/low carb version if available. Instead of 1 big box of instant chocolate pudding mix I bought two smaller sugar free/fat free boxes of the same instant chocolate pudding mix. I used 4 egg beaters servings (1 cup egg beaters) instead of eggs. I substituted 2/3 c unsweetened applesauce instead of using oil, and 2/3 cup splenda (not the splenda with sugar) instead of the additional sugar, and 1 8 oz container of fat free sour cream. I did not use chocolate chips because I could not find a sugar free version. I baked it for only 20 minutes (because it was going to burn after that for some reason) but keep checking by sticking a toothpick every few minutes to make sure its not burning. You definitely don't need the whole 55 minutes with this altered recipe. The grand total for caloric content was 220 calories per serving (1/12 of cake) as opposed to the whopping 500+ as noted in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sumehra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Great recipe. Definitly a keeper. I if you like this cake try this one http://cake.allrecipes.com/AZ/DblChcltBrwniCk.asp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
My family loved this cake. It was moist and very yummy. The only thing I did differently (by accident) was that I used a 3.9 oz box of chocolate pudding instead of a 5.9 oz box as written in the recipe. They loved it and requested that I make it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Not out of this world, but good for a quick sweet fix, especially considering the ease and number of ingredients. Try coating the greased pan with granulated sugar instead of flour for a prettier presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States