Easy Dinner Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I made a vegetarian version of this using veggie sausage crumbles. This recipe is highly adaptable and was a great way for me to use up some odds and ends of frozen vegetables. Simple, and doesn't make a lot of mess, especially if you use frozen diced potatoes and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I enjoyed this dinner, but I was suprised by how dry it was. It needs a sauce similar to au gratin potatoes: I would like to see someone post a comment or new recipe that incorporates a sauce to bind these ingredients together. Since there is not much water, you have to be careful not to burn the sausage while you cook the potatoes. (I think it would be better to put the potatoes in a few minutes after the sausage has been cooking.) Also I used frozen hash brown potatoes to make it easier, but I should have put the onion in with the sausage, since it took longer to cook than the hash browns. To summarize: start the sausage and onion at the same time. Add the potatoes four minutes later with some kind of cheese sauce, then you would have a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bushka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
It's a good meat and potatoes quick meal that gives you your vegetables, too. I substituted the sausage with just seasoned ground beef and it tasted good. I used lots of garlic powder in the meat and a little bit of Lawry's Seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was a great summer meal (b/c you don't have to turn the oven on!) and had lots of vegetables and tons of flavor from the sausage. I substituted mild italian chicken sausage (just removed the casings they came in) and a few red potatoes with the skin on because thats what we had in the house. I doubled the recipe and my husband and I finished the whole thing- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I didn't taste this (not a sausage fan), but this simple recipe went over really well with the men in my house. No frills, just stick-to-your-ribs good. I added some minced garlic; that's the only change I made. I accompanied it with a couple of fried eggs, over-easy...they gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Very good. Everyone loved it. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Gartner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I skipped the mixed veggies on this simply because I don't like the frozen combos and didn't have any fresh available. We were amazed at how delicious this simple meal was. The flavor, at first, was a bit bland, but we seasoned with celery salt, and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Weaver-Beal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Loved it! Husband thought it tasted more like a breakfast skillet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Simple ingredients come together for an easy, quick & delicious meal. I added frozen peas and whatever fresh veggies I had leftover in the fridge. The leftovers tasted great the next day with an egg on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
A good, easy meal. Next time will use spicy sausage instead of mild and add italian seasoning and garlic since it was a little bland. My husband enjoyed topping his with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States