Easy Devonshire Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
It sounds rather nice and I shall make it. BUT it is not Devonshire Cream. To have the real thing. Milk with a good cream content is left so that the cream rises to the top and is then scalded. The taste is unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
So easy to make and great on scones, fruit or almost anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDIE47
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I submitted this recipe after a friend and I experienced our first Tea while in Victoria, BC some years ago. We watched the others in the Tea house as they split their scone, spread the Devonshire Cream on then topped it with fresh strawberry preserves. I fell in love with this wonderful treat and came home and did my best to duplicate. This "cream" began a yearly tradition of having a Tea with mothers, daughters, granddaughters and friends. So much fun and so many memories made. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
If a) You don't like cream cheese or b) You like super sweet whipping cream, this is NOT your recipe. I frequently make Grandma Johnson's scones (this site) and this cream is pure heaven. I made it EXACTLY as the recipe is written and I thought it was not too sweet and PERFECT. ALL my guests raved about the flavor and the word "heaven" was frequently employed as a description. Not exactly like clotted cream, but wonderful all the same. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
We had tea today with 10 of the ladies in our neighborhood. Everyone raved over this. We served it with different types of scones. I altered the recipe by using an additional 2 tsp of sugar (I used superfine sugar, also called Baker's Sugar), adding 1/2 tsp of high quality real vanilla, and omitted the salt. I also used full fat Philadelphia Cream Cheese and heavy cream. The cream cheese flavor was not strong at all, and most people could not tell that is what it was until I told them. I noticed that some reviewers complained that the cream was not thick enough. I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer, which has a stainless steel bowl and wisk. I put them in the freezer prior to whipping the ingredients. It makes a huge difference with how well the cream whips up. It was very dense, and held its shape. It did not melt even after sitting our for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Wasn't overly impressed, rather "blah/bland" I decided to add a little more cream cheese, heavy cream, honey, vanilla & a dash of cinnamon. After the additions it was better, sweeter, and probably best be served with some fruit, pretzels, or a dallop on a "not so sweet" muffin, scones etc. I prefer a "clotted" cream...Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2zzredhead

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Good cream topping, but not really for frosting a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Not sure what real devonshire cream tastes like, but this was amazing. We had it on scones with jam and could hardly stop eating it. It would also be a great dip for fruit. It's definitely cream cheesy tasting, so if that's not what you're looking for then don't make this recipe. I will be making this again, and definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This is great! I love Devonshire cream, but it's not practical for weekday afternoons. This is a fantastic substitute. I used honey, rather than white sugar. I also made this for a children's tea party- added 1 t. vanilla and sweetened it more (just kept adding honey until it was sweet enough). They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This is pure decadence to eat and very addictive-I made this recipe to go with scones but I am searching the house to see what next I can put this cream on-I added 1 extra tbs of sugar and that made this cream perfect-You need to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States