Easy Devonshire Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
A very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Another way is to use equal parts of cream cheese, heavy whipping cream and sour cream and it makes a wonderful Devonshire Cream also. Just whip it in your Kitchen-Aid for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Simply delicious and so very easy to make! I find it interesting that those who didn't rate the recipe very well either didn't even try it or did give it a go, but still complained that it isn't exactly like real Devonshire cream and clotted cream. That's nitpicking and it's not rating the taste of this recipe. I would ask that each of you simply try the recipe and rate it on it's own merits whether it's 'exactly' like the real deal or not. This recipe is meant to be an easy, delicious substitution, not an exact replica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
It sounds rather nice and I shall make it. BUT it is not Devonshire Cream. To have the real thing. Milk with a good cream content is left so that the cream rises to the top and is then scalded. The taste is unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
So easy to make and great on scones, fruit or almost anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDIE47
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I submitted this recipe after a friend and I experienced our first Tea while in Victoria, BC some years ago. We watched the others in the Tea house as they split their scone, spread the Devonshire Cream on then topped it with fresh strawberry preserves. I fell in love with this wonderful treat and came home and did my best to duplicate. This "cream" began a yearly tradition of having a Tea with mothers, daughters, granddaughters and friends. So much fun and so many memories made. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
If a) You don't like cream cheese or b) You like super sweet whipping cream, this is NOT your recipe. I frequently make Grandma Johnson's scones (this site) and this cream is pure heaven. I made it EXACTLY as the recipe is written and I thought it was not too sweet and PERFECT. ALL my guests raved about the flavor and the word "heaven" was frequently employed as a description. Not exactly like clotted cream, but wonderful all the same. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
We had tea today with 10 of the ladies in our neighborhood. Everyone raved over this. We served it with different types of scones. I altered the recipe by using an additional 2 tsp of sugar (I used superfine sugar, also called Baker's Sugar), adding 1/2 tsp of high quality real vanilla, and omitted the salt. I also used full fat Philadelphia Cream Cheese and heavy cream. The cream cheese flavor was not strong at all, and most people could not tell that is what it was until I told them. I noticed that some reviewers complained that the cream was not thick enough. I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer, which has a stainless steel bowl and wisk. I put them in the freezer prior to whipping the ingredients. It makes a huge difference with how well the cream whips up. It was very dense, and held its shape. It did not melt even after sitting our for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Miller Motley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Wasn't overly impressed, rather "blah/bland" I decided to add a little more cream cheese, heavy cream, honey, vanilla & a dash of cinnamon. After the additions it was better, sweeter, and probably best be served with some fruit, pretzels, or a dallop on a "not so sweet" muffin, scones etc. I prefer a "clotted" cream...Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2zzredhead

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Good cream topping, but not really for frosting a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States