Easy Devonshire Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This recipe got rave reviews from tons of people. I used it as a base recipe for my cream and tomato tea sandwiches at a brunch and now I've been requested to make this for every event. I did multiply the recipe by 4, add the juice of a fresh squeezed lemon and some dill to taste. It made for heavenly tea sandwiches! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chillmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Just okay. The cream I've had at tea houses is much thicker, almost butter like, and had no tang like this did. I whipped the stuff forever and it never seemed to get thick enough. Tasted good with scones but I didn't like it alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I make it to go with "Grandma Johnson's Scones" from this site. This is some dangerous stuff. I am prone to just eat it by the spoonful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
super easy, I made it for a hight tea. It wa a topping for cranberry scones with lemon curd. I could eat this with a spoon. Oh I guess I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is so good. I made it to go with cranberry scones. I could not believe how good it tasted. I used it for scones, muffins, bagels. It was all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I guestimated everything, added a little more sugar, per other reviews advice, and put in about 1 tsp. vanilla. It was so delicious. It was served at a tea party themed baby shower with orange marmalade and orange/cranberry scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
YUM!! I used this with scones I made from this site. Delicious topping and everyone loved it. Someone thought this might taste good on Carrot Cake also. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Ok, so though I gave this 5 stars I had to make a change because of my own bad planning. I forgot to get enough cream cheese so I ended up using 4 ounces of sour cream instead because I figured it would work as well and I am happy to say it did. My cream had perhaps a bit more zing than if I had used cream cheese but it tasted really good anyway. The whip held up amazingly, unlike regular whipped cream that quickly goes back to liquid, this remained thick. I served it with scones and fresh sweetened sliced peaches-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This cream is light and delicious and pair perfectly with the "Simple Scones" also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I'm sure it would be even more delicious if I knew how much a pinch of salt is...I used too much! Remember, some of us are novices. Conventional measurements are much easier to learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoffDNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States