Easy Devonshire Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I cannot understand why people modify a recipe, make substitutions that don't work, and then give the original recipe a poor rating!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
435 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
Absolutely delish - a nice change from ordinary whipped cream! I will use it for more than just scones & fruit - anyplace you use whipped cream, except that it is much stiffer. I froze extra in dollops on wax paper, then stored in plastic bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Not Bad! I've had real Devonshire/Clotted Cream and for not being able to find it easily (or even at a reasonable price) this does the trick! Next time, however, I think I'll up the heavy cream content just a bit to rid the end produt of the cream cheese after taste. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This stuff is so good I could use it for a dip with cookies! Instead I used it to top the "Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie" from this site....WOW! Many reviews here confused me because some say to increase the cream cheese and some say that all they tasted was cream cheese. So I went with the 3 oz. as called for and I wouldn't change a thing. I'll make this many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Great recipe. I made this cream for our church ladies tea. I made a small change to the recipe by adding 3 tablespoons of sugar instead of 1. We used this cream with scones and anything else we could, it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
3oz of cream cheese isn't enough, if you add 8oz (a package) then the consistency is right, but it still tastes like cream cheese. If you add 6-8oz of sour cream it tastes MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
This was very easy to make and tasted incredible! It had the perfect texture and whipped right up in my stand mixture. I served it with Grandma Johnson's Scones from this site and the two combined were heaven in high tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
Very easy to make and delicious. Reminds me of my time in England. I had been craving some good cream to have with my scones and tea and this hit the spot. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
Raves, raves and more raves. I made this cream to go with scones I made for a baby shower this last weekend and everyone wanted to know what was in the cream! Several people asked, not only for the recipe, but to take some home as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAH977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Wonderful topping for scones, or used as a fruit dip. I made scones for my daughter's bridal shower tea and topped them with the Easy Devonshire Cream and fresh sliced strawberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States