Easy Devonshire Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is a very good substitute for devonshire cream. It definitely needed more sugar though to make up for not being the real thing. I added a bit more sugar here and there as I mixed. It went great with the Simple Scones recipe from this site and rasberry preserves - so yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was tasty but a bit thin - maybe a problem with me rather than the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Love it!!!! I have made this for several years for a tea at church that I chair. Everyone raves. And thanks to the Allrecipes servings calculator I can adjust the recipe to serve 110 ladies! The price for the real thing would be prohibitive. Someone took some home and said it was even wonderful on waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
So easy and so delicious - I am so happy with the way this turned out - thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Pretty good substitute for clotted cream, though it did have a bit of a cream cheese-y tang to it. Mine came out looking more like cottage cheese, and I had to strain it to get a clotted cream-like substance. Maybe if I'd beaten it for longer it would have all turned out cream-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Perfect cream for my scones! It was definitely a hit with my mother in law! I really liked that the cream has lasted several days in my refrigerator, so you would be able to make the night before. Very tasty! Serve with Perfect Lemon Curd for an extra special treat with scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Easy and Perfect for scones. Adjust the sugar if you like sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Easy and perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This was ok, not sure what I was expecting really. It tastes nothing like real devonshire/clotted cream but it is a little nicer than ordinary thick cream. I will try it again, but next time maybe add a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
A simple recipe to follow, even for a novice. I doubled my recipe and added a little extra sugar, whipped on high and let sit in frig for an hour or so. Wish it could have been a little thicker and I think next time I may try adding 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (maybe the wrong thing to do but I'm gonna try it anyway) and instead of more sugar than is called for I may add a 1/4 cup powdered sugar. I'm planning to play with the recipe a little and make it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States