Easy Devonshire Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Not sure what real devonshire cream tastes like, but this was amazing. We had it on scones with jam and could hardly stop eating it. It would also be a great dip for fruit. It's definitely cream cheesy tasting, so if that's not what you're looking for then don't make this recipe. I will be making this again, and definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This is great! I love Devonshire cream, but it's not practical for weekday afternoons. This is a fantastic substitute. I used honey, rather than white sugar. I also made this for a children's tea party- added 1 t. vanilla and sweetened it more (just kept adding honey until it was sweet enough). They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This is pure decadence to eat and very addictive-I made this recipe to go with scones but I am searching the house to see what next I can put this cream on-I added 1 extra tbs of sugar and that made this cream perfect-You need to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Analiese Fammler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
The cream cheese was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preshema

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I've made this a couple of times now with scones, and I think it is just perfect. Not too sweet, just light and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is SO good! I used splenda instead of sugar and it worked great! I used it in cream puffs and topped them with ganache. WOW!!! Thanks for a wonderful and EASY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I think this is delicious and a great substitute for the real thing. The real thing would be very expensive for a well attended tea party...this is more than good enough for me--and for most others to enjoy. I've been to England, too--many times, and I'm not sure the real thing there is any better than this...maybe it's just knowing you are there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This recipe is great. I make it just as it is and add food coloring to match the decor/occasion. My husband was born/raised in England and was delighted that it was very close to "clotted cream." It's quick and easy to make and adds a real treat to the buffet/table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
WOW - perfect texture - perfect blend of taste that matched all the fruit that I tried with it - even great on french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was easy to make, but be sure to beat the cream cheese well. My first batch had small lumps of cream cheese suspended in the whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States