Easy Devonshire Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I give lots of teaparties for women and this recipe is outstanding, and one that is asked for all the time. I give it a 5 star review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
More cheesy than sweet and more dense than expected. A perfect foil to Grandma Johnson's Scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I made this for my best friend's "high tea" wedding shower, served with homemade scones, and the guests went crazy. Everyone was raving and calling me a gourmet chef. I didn't tell them how incredibly easy it was! I'm making it again this weekend when my family is coming over for breakfast. This is really a delicious and amazingly easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Easy and delicious, great as noted with scones and fruit. I took the suggestion of another user and increased the cream cheese to 8oz. Creamy, and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This whipped cream is exactly what I was looking for to pipe around the edges of a pina colada cheesecake I make. I added another T. of sugar and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract and it was delicious! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Good. It was a little too cheesy for me and it needed a tad more sugar. The consistency was perfect and it went well with the cranberry scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
3oz of cream cheese isn't enough, if you add 8oz (a package) then the consistency is right, but it still tastes like cream cheese. If you add 6-8oz of sour cream it tastes MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I've made this a few times with great success! It is especially good served with Grandma Johnson's Scones (also on this website) and apricot jam. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I found it to be too thin with only 3 oz. of cream cheese. I actually ended up using 8 oz. and it was perfect! I hosted a high tea for a girlfriend's birthday. The cream was her favorite part. It is delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I used this substitute for Devonshire Cream with scone for a group of hungry graduate students. Albeit hungry, and the plates were gone before you could blink. The best was when the ultra-shy student who asked me afterwards if I had anymore, which I did (my own hoard), but I think if it could get her to speak up, the cream with the scones must be extraordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyStarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States