Easy Devonshire Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Oh this cream was delicious on scones that I made (Grandma Johnson's scones)this weekend. I used the 8 ounce block of cream cheese and 3 tablespoons of sugar that is the only change I made and it came just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilyana Duran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Good Good Good! I added about a Tbs. more sugar and 1/2 a tea. imitation vanilla. You really should try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This is pretty good but I don't think it is very much like proper clotted cream. I personally just use a mixer to whip heavy cream until it as thick and stiff as it can get. However, if you want the real mccoy, search the internet for your nearest specialty British food store. And while you're there, do what I do, and stock up on bangers, bacon, white pudding and pasties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Ever since my family toured London, and tasted their delicious scones with clotted cream, raspberry jam, and tea, my family has searched and searched for clotted cream to have with scones. But since the U.S.A doesn't have clotted cream, we tried different Devonshire cream recipes. This recipe has tasted the most like clotted cream!! These definately do the trick. LOVED IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This recipe was great! I added some lemon zest and then put it inside crepes and topped it with raspberry sauce! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I thought it tasted too much like cream cheese, but most of my guests loved it. Next time I will decrease the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I used 8oz of cream cheese and half and half, and it didn't turn out. I then tried to add more cream cheese, but the mixture never thickened up like others have said theirs did. I guess you can't use the half and half in this recipe. Really disappointing, because it was supposed to go with all the scones I made for our St. Patrick's Day luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoleneMiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This was excellent! I made it to serve with Grandma Johnson's scones and everyone raved about it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I give lots of teaparties for women and this recipe is outstanding, and one that is asked for all the time. I give it a 5 star review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
More cheesy than sweet and more dense than expected. A perfect foil to Grandma Johnson's Scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States