Easy Devonshire Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Excellent recipe and great on "Grandma Johnson's scone" recipe. Oh, and if you follow the directions as stated, i.e. CREAM the cream cheese and sugar first with a hand or stand mixer, it won't be lumpy. Hint: room temp cream cheese will speed up the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckymc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
When I made this, it took way too long for the cream cheese to go smooth and I wound up finding bumps after I'd served it. Try putting a pint of whipping cream with 1-2 tablespoons of instant vanilla pudding together; whip until thick. THAT is a five star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Really enjoyed this easy version of devonshire cream over "Grandma Johnson's Scones" recipe from this website and some homemade strawberry freezer jam. On its own, I would omit the salt as it does come through some, but with the sweetness of the jam, you can't taste the salt. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe with us, Sandie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Very easy and very yummy! I made this for a tea party with my daughters 8 and 6 and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This was just ok. Not sweet enough and tasted more like cream cheese than devonshire should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Not Bad! I've had real Devonshire/Clotted Cream and for not being able to find it easily (or even at a reasonable price) this does the trick! Next time, however, I think I'll up the heavy cream content just a bit to rid the end produt of the cream cheese after taste. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Easy to make and great texture. Could be a bit sweeter though. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I cannot understand why people modify a recipe, make substitutions that don't work, and then give the original recipe a poor rating!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
427 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Great recipe. Served with blueberry scones :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Too salty/cheesy tasting, and far too liquidy. A proper Devon cream should be thicker (like whipped butter), and slightly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States