Easy Curry Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Instead of adding water, I used lower sodium chicken stock, for those who want more flavor, I suggest using this trick for a more flavorful rice dish. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I didn't have a rice cooker, so I did the usual 1 part rice 2 parts water method and boiled in a pot. I also did not put 3 Tablespoons of curry powder, because that seemed like way too much seasoning for that little rice. I decided that it was meant to be read "3 Teaspoons" and used just that. I really enjoyed how it came out. It was in need of just a little more salt at the end of cooking, and my curry powder might have been on the cheap side and had to adjust the taste just a tad (I needed to add a small extra sprinkle of ginger, nutmeg, and garlic as well). Another thing that is wonderful with this recipe, just cut up your favorite sausage and dump it in with your cooking rice. spices the sausage and gives a little extra to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabth_dt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Too much curry and too bland otherwise. Agree with other posts that suggest using broth or something to doctor it up and make it better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Very easy to make, throw it and wait! That's the kind of dishes I like. I added a few things to the rice cooker. I added garlic powder, onion powder and extra curry. I'm using this as a base for a dish I make often and this was an awesome idea to cut down on prep time. I'd never thought to add anything but rice to the rice cooker! The only thing I see that it needs is salt,other wise the flavor of the curry isn't brought out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
too much curry. Learned my lesson by trying to take this shortcut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan Swenson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I also used a rice cooker and substituted unsweetened coconut milk for water and used 2T of red curry instead of the 3 of regular curry powder. Yield = perfect subtle curried rice. Use a fragrant rice like Basmati or Jasmine for maximum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I'm sorry that I couldn't give this a more favorable review. Easy? Yes.... tasty? No....This recipe was plain and dull. To doctor it: You're better off adding some chicken/beef broth base or seasoning to the mix for flavor (I use Orrington Farms, no MSG). And doing this would keep true to the "easy" way. But honestly, you're better off making the "Authentic Bangladeshi Beef Curry" recipe that you can type in the search engine near the top of the page. Never stop trying nickval2010!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
it was good i had to add some other stuff to it like hog jaw and seasoning salt but it was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I don't understand the rave reviews. Followed directions to the T and it turned out inedible due to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Helfand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made this with my rice steamer also, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States