Easy Curry Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
this is a simple, delicious recipe. However, if you have salt in your chicken broth already, i would not add any more salt at all. With the 2tsp of salt PLUS the salt in my chicken broth, the dish was much too salty. I will not add the 2tsp of salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This recipe deserves more than five stars for absolute brilliance--I would've never thought to put curry in couscous! My family was very skeptical as I was making this but we ended up with no leftovers. As per other reviewers, I added some fresh garlic, cumin, and a bag of frozen veggies. Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This is a second review - OK - made this again, and even better! For a double recipe, I took 12 wings and browned them on both sides. Add a chopped onion, bell pepper, carrots - saute till tender. Mix 2T curry, 1t turmeric, 1t cumin, 1t garlic, 1t onion powder, 1t oregano, 1/2t red pepper, 1/2t allspice, 1/2t cloves and mix into 2C hot water. Pour into skillet, cover, and simmer until chicken is done, turning occasionally. Toss in raisins, 2 cups water and 1 1/2C couscous. Cook until done!! WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This couscous has already become a weekly treat in our house! We use more curry and more raisins just because we love it that way. Made a triple batch of it for a graduation open house and had people just going nuts over it. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Wonderful side dish! Very easy to prepar and it's a nice change from potatoes or rice. I did cut back on the salt a bit and left out the cilantro as my husband isn't a huge fan. Overall, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This was the easiest, most delicious side I have ever made! I felt like I was eating at an Indian restaurant! I mixed chicken in the couscous with some peas, it was amazing. I really like this dish too because, like at the restaurant, you can make it as mild or as spicy as you want by adding red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This is my first time cooking couscous, I never bother before because I really thought it was difficult, hehehe, silly me. But this was easy!!!! and it was really good, besides the cilantro and almonds at the end I also added some chopped green onions and chopped pecans, my boyfriend loved it, I'll be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susycooks4_2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Very delicious. Even my fiance--who hates Indian--ate it. He was skeptical about the raisins I put in, but it is a nice addition to the flavor. I add garbanzo beans and peas to bulk it up. Add whatever you want to it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Tasty! I added cooked chicken, cranberries and green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I liked this but it had mixed reviews from my family. I think next time I would use low sodium broth and leave out the salt...I only used 1/2 tsp and it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States