Easy Curry Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I tried this recipe since I had curry and wanted a healthier couscous dish to make, and was fairly happy with the results after following these instructions. My results may be a tad different cause I didn't have chicken stock so I used broth, and in lieu of cilantro I at first just omitted it. I also didn't have raisins or almonds so as such, my first dish was fairly bland. Not at all the fault of the recipe though, since so many things were missing. Since I made a huge amount of this bland couscous, I tried to help my next serving the next day by adding something to combat the blandness. Right now I'm eating a bowl of it, with a liberal helping of dehydrated parsley, and I must say even though I'm still missing raisins and almonds, the flavour has been dramatically helped. Overall I think this is a great way to make couscous, but as a word of warning, make sure you have cilantro or parsley on hand or you're in for a fairly bland meal. On a side note I also added a can of chick peas when I added the stock/broth to the couscous, because I wanted to eat this sort of as its own meal. I don't think it alters the flavour much though, just makes it more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Very easy to put together and so yummy. I did not add the 2 teaspoons of salt and didn't feel it was missed at all. I used dried cranberries because we were out of raisins and that worked fine but next time I will use raisins. I think their flavor would compliment the seasonings better. I stirred in some shredded chicken to make it a bit more hearty. This is definitely a keeper and provides opportunity for a cook's creativity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Love rice but this recipe can totally replace my rice cravings ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is a wonderfully easy recipe to make. I love the curry taste, so next time I will probably add another half tablespoon curry. As one reviewer suggested, I added cooked cubed chicken, peas, and I also added a chopped apple. Turned out great. Thank you reviewers and thank you Janis P. for submitting it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Way too salty. I followed recipe exact and it was almost unpalatable. Less salt would equal 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is amazing as is and my husband loves curry so it was a hit. I used vegetarian broth and added Quorn chik'n pieces to make it a meal. This would be delicious with cashews, switching mint out for the cilantro, or adding green peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I love this recipe!! But why 4 stars and not 5 you ask - well because 1 tsp of black pepper is just too much for me to handle, and 2 tsp of salt is overkill as well. My husband has made this 3 times now, and the last two he scaled back the pepper to 1/4 tsp. He also put far less salt in the second also. The third time he added a little more salt than attempt number two, and now it's flavorful without being a spice overkill. We also skip the cilantro (I don't like it). Hubby also adds the raisins in last as he doesn't like them turning back into grapes. I also requested last time that he increase the amount of toasted almonds. The quantity is enough for us to both pig out at dinner, our daughters pick at and whine about their servings, and still have 2 more "pig out" size portions left for me to consume the next day instead of a normal breakfast and lunch - and then I get dirty looks for not leaving him any. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Wonderful Recipe! I am just learning to cook and this is my first time cooking couscous. It was simple, fast and easy! It came out a bit too salty, probably because the chicken broth I used has salt. Next time, I will not add as much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I always serve lamb roast and a couscous dish on Easter. This dish went perfectly with the lamb. I didn't have enough raisins so I subbed craisins and they worked great. Also used the low sodium chicken broth and only one tsp of salt and I felt it could have used another 1/2 tsp of it. It was delicious. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLCOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States