Easy Curried Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This dish is great! I've made several variations but my low carb favorite is to leave the cauliflower in chunks and replace the kidney beans with chopped celery hearts - adding them with the tomato! Sometimes I need to add a splash of water or wine vinegar to make sure the cauliflower steams properly. I also increased the spices a bit to make it even more flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Did not have kidney beans or tumeric on hand and added 1/3 of the veggie oil, but the recipe was very enjoyable without these ingredients. A nice fresh flavor where the cauliflower can shine through. Would definitely make again. Nice and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Curry and kidney beans??? This screams LENTILS!! I used frozen (thawed) whole cauliflower; more than 1/2 an onion; 3 or 4 cloves of garlic; 1 tsp ground cumin; 1/4 tsp cayenne; 1 tsp coriander seed; one can lentils. Couldn't find garam masala... It was sooo good my BF is requesting it again for this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was awesome. It was easy and healthy. Even my teens and my husband liked it. I made it as the recipe indicated (which I always do the first time I make any dish from allrecipes, so I can rate it fairly). I actually look forward to making this regularly (2-3 times a week) as a delicious and healthy snack... I'm sure it would be a wonderful "side dish", as well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell-Shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was a delicious way to eat cauliflower. We did not grate the cauliflower, we used the florets and we did not add the beans. Would probably used another tomato for color the next time. Also halved the cayenne pepper. It was still spicy! And the garam masala was purchased from a specialty store. Don't leave it out. All in all, we would make this again the next time we plan an Indian dinner. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri330

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Great recipe! I omitted the kidney beans and used a package of tofu instead (extra firm) - sauteed the chopped up tofu with the onions and spices until it was slightly browned. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was easy & delicious, and my first attempt at Indian. I did make 2 changes... I used chick peas instead of kidney beans (drained & rinsed) and I added about a tablespoon of hot red curry paste (I did not have any tumeric). I did a rough chop on the cauliflower. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a wonderful dish. Follow the tip to use garbanzo instead of kidney beans. Maybe use a can of fire-roasted tomatoes. Use the cayenne to your personal heat preference - I use less than this recipe calls for because I'm a sweaty wimp! Cook longer for softer cauliflower (and use frozen if it's cheaper). VERY aromatic and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I used 2 large cauliflowers for 6, so doubled the ingredients. I cut the cauliflower into medium florets. Followed the recipe exactly and when it was time to add the cauliflower i folded the florets through the onion mixture and put on a lid. They were soft within 8 - 10 minutes. I like a bit more sauce so I then added a little tomato paste, cream (you could use plain yoghurt) and cardamon. I served it with brown rice. I put some in the oven to keep for my husband and it was so much nicer as the top was a little crunchy which made a better texture. Next time I will bake again like a gratin over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cesson

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I used cauliflower cut into golf ball sized pieces which I lightly steamed a couple hours before I made the dish. We had company for dinner and the dish got a 5 star rating all around [even though I forgot to add the garam masala] I will definitely make it again, this time with the garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Jezzard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plantersville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States