Easy Curried Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This dish is great! I've made several variations but my low carb favorite is to leave the cauliflower in chunks and replace the kidney beans with chopped celery hearts - adding them with the tomato! Sometimes I need to add a splash of water or wine vinegar to make sure the cauliflower steams properly. I also increased the spices a bit to make it even more flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jonagold
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I give this four stars because the flavor was right-on, but can't give a full five stars because the texture was not very curry-ish. It needed more sauce, so I added a little bit of my own home-made curry sauce to it (potatoes, garam masala, ghee, chickpea powder, etc) and it was wonderful. I also added more cumin than suggested. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonagold

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Did not have kidney beans or tumeric on hand and added 1/3 of the veggie oil, but the recipe was very enjoyable without these ingredients. A nice fresh flavor where the cauliflower can shine through. Would definitely make again. Nice and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Garbanzo beans fit this meal better than kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaBanana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
My husband loved it.. although he said it would be better with ground beef but he thinks everything is better with meat. I didn't like it at all but I am not a curry lover like my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trouble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was a delicious way to eat cauliflower. We did not grate the cauliflower, we used the florets and we did not add the beans. Would probably used another tomato for color the next time. Also halved the cayenne pepper. It was still spicy! And the garam masala was purchased from a specialty store. Don't leave it out. All in all, we would make this again the next time we plan an Indian dinner. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri330

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I was looking for an Indian side dish that was veggie based and low in calories to round out my main dishes. I made this recipe with the following changes: used a 19oz can of chickpeas instead of kidney beans; rather than cumin and coriander seeds, I used the same amount ground. This recipe has a nice flavour, but needed some extra liquid to cook properly. I just added water as I saw fit. White wine might also have been nice. My partner and I have been enjoying leftovers for the past few days - this dish is a nice side even if your main meal is not Indian. It is AMAZING with a good dab of plain yogurt and sprinkled with geram masala, as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Great recipe! I omitted the kidney beans and used a package of tofu instead (extra firm) - sauteed the chopped up tofu with the onions and spices until it was slightly browned. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I gave this 4 stars because as it was, I felt it was lacking something. I followed the recipe exactly, but wanted it to be more moist once it was nearly done cooking. So I added 1 tablespoon of butter and a couple of teaspoons of flower, mixed it all up, then added a bit of milk. Just enough to add a bit of moistness to the dish. This extra step made it nice and creamy. Very tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was awesome. It was easy and healthy. Even my teens and my husband liked it. I made it as the recipe indicated (which I always do the first time I make any dish from allrecipes, so I can rate it fairly). I actually look forward to making this regularly (2-3 times a week) as a delicious and healthy snack... I'm sure it would be a wonderful "side dish", as well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell-Shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States